Code of Conduct

Thread: Drakkar (1972)

Default Drakkar (1972)

Hello Basenoters,

I didn't even know of this fragrance until a few months ago. I know Drakkar Noir of course but I had never heard of this and I wonder if it just wasn't stocked in my part of the world growing up.

So for you who have tried it- What's it like? Do you love it? If you found a bottle today would you buy it?

I ask as there are only two reviews on this here and I would love to know more.

Best wishes,

Koala.
    La vita breve, la morte vien.

Wanted!!! Rectoverso Tea Tobacco by Ulric de Varens. PM Me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Default Re: Drakkar (1972)

I like Drakkar very much. It's a fragrance I was familiar with when I was very young. I'm not good at describing the notes. To me, it's a scent of soft citrus and flowery notes with a slightly sweet base with a light herbal and woodsy hints. It smells very clean and refreshing. I can hardly associate Drakkar to Drakkar Noir! I got two small 25 ml bottles of this from eBay few months ago. Very happy now!

Basenotes Member

Drakkar used to be my everyday fragrance when I was in high school, before I stopped wearing perfume for a long time (25 years). Then, last year I found a bottle for 5€ and bought it right away - it's exactly like I remember it (jss' description is pretty close, as far as I can tell) but I can't wear it anymore, it's just not "me".
    Anyway, last year I tried Sisley's Eau d'Ikar on a blotter and I though it smelled very very similar to Drakkar, at least as far as the top/middle notes - perhaps you can find a sample of that and see if it's worth searching for a vintage Drakkar.

It's a very nice scent.