Code of Conduct
    Basenotes Junkie

Default Guerlain Vetiver... Wow!

I finally got a sample of this recently and, wow! I haven been this impressed by a fragrance in a long time. I'm somewhat new to Vetiver. So far, I own Encre Noire and I've sampled Tom Ford Grey Vetiver, Givenchy Vetyver, as well as a few other fragrances that feature prominent vetiver notes. I've always enjoyed the note, but Guerlain completely threw me for a loop. This is everything I could ever want in a vetiver frag. I feel like I could already put it in my top 3 all time favorites. I can see why this is a classic. Such an amazing composition. Perfection. I bought a bottle immediately.

Now I'm itching to try Habit Rouge. Any other Guerlain Vetiver fans want to make some recommendations? Anyone else have a similar experience with this fragrance? Is it worth seeking out the original formula? I've only smelled what I believe to be the current formulation.

Default Re: Guerlain Vetiver... Wow!

Quote Originally Posted by 2ndBakeryAttack View Post
    Is it worth seeking out the original formula?
    Yes.
    I'd forgotten how good it was until a BN buddy sent me a sample recently. Vintage or bust.

Any other Guerlain Vetiver fans want to make some recommendations? Anyone else have a similar experience with this fragrance? Is it worth seeking out the original formula? I've only smelled what I believe to be the current formulation.
    I prefer the 2 more recent incarnations (BN heresy), I find the vintage a bit 'musty', perhaps due to heavier vetiver, or the effects of ageing. You might want to sample Lubin Le Vetiver, which is similar to the Guerlain. Also Carven Vetiver EdP is another good classical vetiver.

Anyway the Guerlain is my favourite vetiver and one of my favourite scents, period.

There is much to sniff in the world of vetiver, and I'm sure you will get plenty of recommendations.