Code of Conduct

Thread: Perfume oil

Default Perfume oil

Hello-

I'm a novice and want to blend my own perfume oils. I've been reading as much as time permits, mostly online, and have a general idea about the process. My confusion is about how to convert percentages into drops. I don't have a scale and need to figure out the number of drops needed for the base, middle, and top notes. Most of the resources give percentages of those parts of the total blend. I know that one ml equals 20 drops. My blend will equal a total of 60 drops; that should equal 3 ml, right? So, if I have 20 percent base, 50 percent middle, and 15-20 percent top, how do I figure the number of drops. Probably I'll add 20 drops of carrier oil in addition. Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Default Re: Perfume oil

Even though measuring by volume is not a totally accurate measure it will probably suffice in the very beginning. It's recommended to dilute the EOs before blending to 10-20% in carrier oil or alcohol. You can use a disposable pipette to measure out 1-2mls of EO then add enough carrier oil or alcohol to make it up to 10 mls in total. Giving you a dilution 10-20%.

The rest is quite simple.

20% of 60 drops is 12 drops
    50% of 60 drops is 30 drops etc...

Your final blend will then already be diluted to 10-20%. if you found it too strong you could add 60 drops of your carrier and then have a 5-10% dilution.

Thank you, ClaraAus.

Just another note that carrier oils and alcohol do not mix but essential oils are soluble in either. So you have to decide from the outset whether you will make an alcohol or oil based perfume. Whatever you dilute your essential oils in will be what you have to use for your perfume base.

Thanks again.