Code of Conduct

Thread: Kashan rose oil

Basenotes Member

Default Kashan rose oil

Hello Basenoters,

besides being a beginner amateur perfumer, I am also a researcher in Middle Eastern Studies and have to do mostly with Iran.
    I knew before getting into perfumes that the city Kashan has a long tradition of rose water and rose oil production, and the rose they grow is botanically the same you find in Taif, Grass, Bulgaria etc. An agronomist I am in touch with and who wrote a monograph on the subject even claims, based on molecular evidence, that the rosa damascena did in fact first originate from Iran. Now, I do not know of the use of the Kashan variation of the rosa damascena in perfumery (I know it is very sought after in the Arab world, though) but I am curious to give it a go.

I got in touch with a trusted vendor in Iran who would sell 20 ml for about $60. Please tell me if you are interested in getting some, and also if you have more informations about its use in perfumery, quality etc.

Alessandro

Default Re: Kashan rose oil

I've not tried this myself, but I'd be very interested to do so. Are we talking about the otto (= essential oil) or absolute or some other type of extraction?
    A person who is nice to you, but rude to the waiter, is not a nice person.”
    ― Dave Barry

Chris Bartlett
    Perfumes from the edge . . .

www.perfumedesigner.co.uk
    Twitter: @PellWallPerfume

If you are looking for a perfumery consultation I’m happy to quote: if you want free advice, that’s what these forums are for
    You can also join my blog if you wish to ask questions of me.

My parents bought me a tiny vial of some stunning rose oil from there after they had been on holiday. Unfortunately they didn't ask exactly what rose it was. I can only think it is the damascus rose from the smell. The quality is wonderful.

Basenotes Member

Good question Chris.