Code of Conduct

Lightbulb My Intro and project

Hi My name is Bridgewater 34 year old father of3 girls living in Killeen, TEXAS. I am new to Basenotes but have a little background in working with Essential oils. I wont go into great detail here but hopefully within my time here I will get to know a few of you and in that time I am sure we will learn a lot about each other.

I stared out in soap making and slipped into designing body oils, perfumes, etc.... It is now turning into a business and I find my self wanting a deeper understanding of the whole process. I have done a search and come up empty handed which lead me to write this post. Is there a chart somewhere that list all essential oils by name, family and whether they are a base, middle, or top note? If so where can i find it and if not are there anyone willing to help me create it? Im sure there's other vital info that can be added to the chart later but for right now I think this is a good starting point.

Default Re: My Intro and project

There is one in the starting out section. If you cannot find it. I will scan one in later. There is ample information on here already without doing anything again. I suggest lots of reading. You will find many helping hands here.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome Bridgewater. Although not perfume specific (i.e. base, mid, top is not listed) I find Bo Jensen's site immensely helpful when doing research on naturals and the chemicals they contain: http://www.bojensen.net/EssentialOil...entialOils.htm

Basenotes Plus
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome aboard!

If you want the definitive details on natural aromatics, the best resource is still Stephan Arctander's work, first published in 1961 but still superb. It is expensive, but if you are making a business of this I think it's an essential resource, there are links & other recommendations in my blog post on perfumery books.