Code of Conduct

Default Am I picky or just a rookie still?

So I'm still new to this but I've been fascinated for the past month or so. To go along with my old bottles of ADG, Cool Water and 360 Red, I've recently purchased these 4 bottles:

Tom Ford Grey Vetiver (Love it)
    Terre D'Hermes (Love it)
    D&G PH (decent)
    Burberry London (still waiting to be shipped to me)

The problem is when I go to a dept store to test stuff I've heard great things about (Nuit de L'Homme, Le Male, Egoiste and platinum Egoiste, Polo Green, Prada Amber PH, 1 Million, A*Men) I end up being VERY underwhelmed and in some cases (Polo Green, prada amber PH, A*Men, Le Male) completely turned off.

I really liked Pure Havane and YSL L'Homme had the right type of sweetness for me ....and some others were nice enough but nothing as far as "WOW beautiful instant buy"

I know I need to get over to Neiman Marcus to check out some niche/exclusive frags (Creed house, Amouage, Malle, Heely, Bond no 9, Sycamore, Tom Ford TV, etc) but I was expecting more from a lot of these designer frags.

Any ideas? Hard to distinguish which notes I like and don't since I'm a newbie. I'm interested in Boss Bottled, Tiffany and Gucci PH II but that's just based on what my brain thinks from reading.

THANKS!

- - - Updated - - -

Oh and I also HATED Marc Jacobs.

I realize most of my quick little tests are done on paper strips and involve almost only top notes but still....

- - - Updated - - -

Oh and I also HATED Marc Jacobs.

I realize most of my quick little tests are done on paper strips and involve almost only top notes but still....

Default Re: Am I picky or just a rookie still?

I think what you are experiencing is natural with many people. You'll find your place so enough.

The problem is when I go to a dept store...
    I'd say one of the worst places to sample a fragrance is *inside* a dept store - there is invariably a confusing mess of smells in the air.