Code of Conduct

Question My first post in DIY, seeking some advice, answers and hints :)

So, I've been a little afraid to post here since I'm just a beginner but here goes. :}

I need some help on how to get better accuracy in measuring and testing and would love advice/tricks on how some of you out there go from your research phase to production.

I've had a big passion for fragrance for many years now. Thanks to this site I feel I've grown leaps and bounds in the consumer aspect of fragrance. A few years ago I started making my own shaving oils (mainly pre-shave) thanks to a website I found thru Stumbleupon. That led to more internet research and eventually I found SaveOnScents and not only ordered base oils but also fragrance oils so I could scent my product. I found my research on making my own fragrance a bit more tricky. Most sites dealt with picking flowers, making a tincture and other things that were not really up my alley so I kinda combined a few hints I found hidden in those sites and started messing around with fragrance oils.

My "method", which leaves much to be desired, kinda goes like this. I get an idea of what type of fragrance I want to create, go thru my bottles and see which ones will fit in with my vision. Then I dip a toothpick in each bottle of fragrance oil I have chosen, repeat with the other bottles (using different toothpicks, of course) labeling them as I do and stand those together in an egg carton or the like, like this :}

This way I get an approximation of what works together and what doesn't. If a certain note needs more power I add a toothpick. This process is fairly decent and saves on fragrance oil since I can switch up as I go along.