Code of Conduct

Default Do you remember smells literally?

I just realized that it might be impossible for me to become a true "nose". I was thinking about how I create a song in my head (I am a musician), how I literally hear notes and sounds, and how I can synthesis them. It seems to me that I can just barely "smell" things in my memory, sure I remember the way things smell as I am smelling them, and I can "combine" smells that I have recently smelled, but I cant call up any smell with the clarity I recall sounds (which are closer to a guided hallucination on my part). While I'm sure one can train this to a degree, I don't know whether it is possible to do without some sort of "talent" or early start. I know I trained my brain to compose music in my head, but I feel I was "born" with the ability to remember sounds with literal clarity. Do you find that you can recall smells literally? Did you train the ability? How long did it take? Techniques?

Default Re: Do you remember smells literally?

I don't know if our brain can recreate smells as well as it does sounds and images, but certainly, it can identify and distinguish dozens, if not hundreds, of smells when exposed to them. Just think about food - without realizing, we instinctively know what smells like what. But identifying smells in perfume is difficult because we've not consciously been exposed to them in isolation. The first step in a perfumer's school is to learn how each material smells. Then one can start combine them and learn accords, which, sometimes, the nose cannot perceive as separate combinations of smells, but as accords. But to do so one has to exposed to the materials - and these learning kits can be expensive.

Then, of course, I'm sure to be a top perfumer one needs some special talent. You evidently have a special talent for music. But, even without a special talent most people can learn to analyze and enjoy music - and the same is true of perfumes.

cacio