Code of Conduct

Default Fragrance suggestions for an early-30s male newbie?

Every cologne I have had up until now has been given to me by friends and/or family. I have reached the point where I would really like to find a fragrance that complements who I really am. Since I am completely new to the world of colognes and fragrances, any suggestions at all will be most welcome.

I think I'd like something woody and/or leathery, complex with perhaps just a hint of lavender or jasmine? I'm looking for something comforting like a nice old bookstore, with a hint of the exotic and a dash of sensuality. Idealy, it should be a fragrance that one can savor and enjoy like a sip of fine bourbon. Thanks in advance for any ideas!

Banned
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Fragrance suggestions for an early-30s male newbie?

L'Air Du Desert Marocain or Timbuktu maybe.

Thanks for the quick reply! I will definitely check those out. After browsing on this website, I found something called Vintage, by John Varvatos, that looks promising. Anyone tried that one?

I guess you will get a lot of different recommendations as you point out a lot off different notes.

L'Air Du Desert Marrocain is a very nice amber based spicy scent.

For leathery you could check out Knize Ten or Daim Blond.

Banned
    Blog Entries

To be honest, none of the Varvatos fragrances are good.

+1 on the Knize Ten, but L'eau du Navigateur by L'Artisan Parfumeur would fit your bill. If you want to splash the cash, Tom Ford's Tuscan Leather, Parfumerie Generale's Cuir d'Iris or CB I Hate Perfume's In The Library.

Guerlain songe ete but doesn't have Jasmine. Also try creed royal oud.

Basenotes Plus

Fahrenheit

Get Knize 10

Banned

Its calling your name.
    It is a floral masculine scent with cedarwood and leather notes.

Quote Originally Posted by smrgol View Post