Code of Conduct

Thread: How to Sample

Default How to Sample

I have a question regarding sampling. I am still refining my process for doing this effectively and have noticed just recently that someeople mention testing on skin, paper and fabric. I am wondering if someone might care to elaborate on what each surface is meant to test and how you would use these varying tests to make final purchase decisions.

Thank you in advance for your insights.

Default Re: How to Sample

Hi, danieq. Forgot to close Basenotes window while I'm working. As you know, I'm also new at this, but here's my self-developed process:

1) Sniff from vial
    2) If good, dab on paper, sniff
    3) If good, apply to back of hand and monitor thru full drydown, noting projection and longevity
    4) If good, consider a buy; if tremendous, buy asap

I'd be interested to learn how others approach sampling, too.

p.s. By the way, here's a great video on the subject that I found recently. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4jf2ftYa-TE
    Last edited by ScentFan; 31st December 2013 at 05:34 AM.

Everyone I guess has their own method. If it's a dab vial I simply turn it over on my wrist and drag it. Then I rub both wrists together and then touch my neck with both wrists.

(2370)
    Remember that while it is perfectly acceptable to criticize the content of a post - criticizing the poster is not.
    Mean spirited, nasty, snide, sarcastic, hateful, and rude individuals don't warrant or deserve other individuals' acknowledgement or respect.

This thread may be worth a read
    http://www.basenotes.net/threads/183...de-amp-Summary

I'm totally not any kind of expert or collector, just someone who enjoys different scents, but find that the outside of the fore-arm is a good place to apply samples, preferably from a spray vial as dabbing produces markedly different results for scent intended to be used from a sprayer (obviously not parfum extraits or oils).