Code of Conduct

Default IFRA & all that... latest. Your opinions/ advice

I came across Turin & Sanchez's relatively recent little book "100 favourite perfumes" (or some title like that) the other day, and was distressed to see how damning they are about the state of the art following recent regulations on ingredients (by IFRA, the EU and who knows what other august bodies).

I'm new to this whole field, and was initially drawn to it by their Perfumes: A Guide... I suppose I'm naturally a bit of an aesthete and, although I'd never been interested in scents in the past, I suddenly saw this whole new field of nerdy/ aesthetic interest & rewards opening up before me.

But, given that that's my approach (rather than anything practical; I mean, I'm not sure I'd ever wear a perfume other than to smell it myself...), I feel pretty put off by the idea that the whole game, at least at the highest level, is possibly up... and that it will never be possible to experience perfumes as rich as those created in the past again (or at least not until synthetic ingredients start truly replicating the wonders of the banned, natural ones like oakmoss and so on).

What's the latest state of all this, though? How badly have these regulations affected things? Are most of the great perfumes sold in the shops now shadows of their former selves? Is there much hope for the future?

(I realise that seeking out vintage stuff is one answer... but frankly I have a busy life and several other such interests and am unlikely to ever bother spending vast tracts of time on eBay or wherever tracking these things down. Plus, to be honest, I don't have much money to gamble on possible fakes, or the knowledge to work out if the vintage thing I've ordered still smells like what it oughta.)

Basenotes Plus

Default Re: IFRA & all that... latest. Your opinions/ advice