Code of Conduct

Default Fragrance notes confusion

Hello,
    I am fairly new to perfumery. I started a few years ago in aromatherapy and thought I had all the notes down but since I have started in perfumery I have noticed that a lot of the fragrances that I thought were top notes are actually middle notes and vice versa. For example I always thought all florals were middle notes but now I am getting conflicting info about rose, jasmine and lavender. I learned these were middle notes and now I see them listed as top notes. I can understand Lavender but rose and jasmine are confusing me. I am also confused about clove, nutmeg and cinnamon. I have seen them all listed as top middle and base. I have so many charts from different websites and they are all different so I am so very confused. Please help!!

Sincerely

Caprittarius

Basenotes Plus

Default Re: Fragrance notes confusion

Hi & welcome, caprittarius

We'll just move this over to our DIY section as it will probably be answered better over there.

Thanks.
    Directory contribution link:-
    http://www.basenotes.net/contribute.php

OOOH! Caprittarius, another So Cal fumehead!

Might I assume that you are referring to all natural extractions of these products?

If you are, then you would need to know that one can re-make / re-stack / re-directed the same/similar aroma chemicals as what is found in the naturals into a reconstructed accord of the natural, so that they smell as you want to place them, as top, or middle, or even bottom notes.

What city are you in?

PK
    Menifee, CA
    Paul Kiler
    PK Perfumes
    http://www.PKPERFUMES.com
    Gold Medal for "Best Aroma"; Los Angeles Artisan Fragrance Salon

I don't understand the confusion about Top, Middle and Back notes. A chemical that you can smell for few minutes (up to an hour) is a Top note. A chemical that you can smell for several hours is a Middle note. A chemical that you can smell for several days, or longer, is a Base note.