Code of Conduct
Just Starting Out Sponsor

Default Men's Cologne for Young Professional (Gift)

Hi. I'm completely new to this, and so hope my question makes sense. Any questions, please just ask.

I want to buy my boyfriend cologne for a gift. He is mid twenties, and starting a new job as an attorney in a very male dominated field soon. He is very in to hiking, etc. He doesn't really have cologne that he wears on a regular basis, but would like something nice to wear for work and dressing up.

I've been told that I tend to like scents that are more appropriate for an older man (pine, sandalwood, leather, etc.), so I'm a bit worried if I just go to the store and pick out what I like. But are there scents with these notes that are appropriate for a younger guy? I also really don't really like "soapy" scents (Chanel Bleu, for instance).

Any suggestions are very much appreciated.
    Last edited by MS2015; 3rd May 2015 at 05:17 PM. Reason: Clarity.

Default Re: Men's Cologne for Young Professional (Gift)

Welcome to you MS2015! Perhaps Green Irish Tweed. Doesn't have the notes you list but is great for the young professional IMO. Also Burberry London might work.
    Remember that while it is perfectly acceptable to criticize the content of a post - criticizing the poster is not.
    Mean spirited, nasty, snide, sarcastic, hateful, and rude individuals on Basenotes don't warrant or deserve other individuals' acknowledgement or respect.

Tom Ford Grey Vetiver would be a good one. Very office appropriate, and a modern-classic

Both of those suggestions are great for office wear. May I also recommend Chanel Allure Homme. Very nice for every occasion and year round use.
    Currently wearing: Spicebomb by Viktor & Rolf

MS2015 - Thank you for posting. Your instincts about fragrances are probably good, and the older stuff is what you want for the office.

This is what I think: