Code of Conduct
Just Starting Out Sponsor
    Basenotes Member babycarrot5000's Avatar

Default Birthday gift for myself

My birthday is in two weeks and I plan to get myself something totally new. I was hoping I could get some recommendations! I'm still pretty new to the realm of fragrance, over the past years I just bought things from houses I knew I liked (Guerlain, Patou, Estée Lauder) so I haven't branched out a whole lot. I think at the moment I'm interested in woody scents. I got a whiff of Wonderwood by CdG recently and fell in love and immediately ordered a little decant of it. I think I'd be interested in more along that line, but I like chypres a lot too. I'm not really sure how to describe my taste, I'm Too New. Poke around my wardrobe and wish list to get an idea of what I like, perhaps. I know I love Jasmine, incense, bergamot, cedar, oud, rose, saffron... And I know I don't like things that are too sweet and have extremely powdery notes. I like powdery sometimes, but when it smells like baby powder I'm not into it.

I'd really appreciate recommendations. I don't really know a lot about what I like or where to go, but I'd love something interesting or niche. Price isn't too much of an issue. I want to treat myself. Thank you in advance.
    Currently wearing: Câline by Jean Patou

Default Re: Birthday gift for myself

Oud Wood by Tom Ford sounds like a good one.
    Currently wearing: Le Vetiver Itasca by Lubin

Quote Originally Posted by sjg3839 View Post
    Oud Wood by Tom Ford sounds like a good one.
    Thanks, I'll look that up right now. I've read some descriptions of a few other frags by Tom Ford I thought sounded really nice.