Code of Conduct

Default Trapped by iso e and ambrox

I'm a newbie - been at this for 8 months - and I seem to be trapped by ambrox and iso e. No matter what new fragrance I create, it always seems to dry down to the same old smell. I can't seem to escape it. I've bought a few ouds to switch things up but I'm not a big fan. Iso e, ambrox and sandalwood! There has to be something nicer lol.

Does anyone have any good suggestions of nice, balsamic base notes for my fragrances? I definitely lean more towards gourmand scents so I'm looking for a nice, sweet and complex base note to build my fragrances around. To be honest though, I just want something different, anything to get me away from the same old dry down. I use a lot of vanilla, tonka, benzoin and coumarin so a nice, complex and balsamic basenote which combines with them would be perfect.

I've been looking at attars but I don't really know much about them. So does anyone have any good ideas? I'm putting in an order from perfumers apprentice this week so any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance!

Default Re: Trapped by iso e and ambrox

At one time I too had the 5 base note problems lol I had to make a concerted effort to get more and still have to make an effort to use more things. As has been said here before. The magic happens outside of your comfort zone. Even gourmands and orientals have more things in them than balsamic! You will make better formulas when you have the materials to design better.

I love every robertet material I've ever tried. Bois D' Encense, beeswax, black tea, Bois des Landes, Olibanol.

I like creating perfumes aldehydic accord and I dilute it to 10% I love using this and especially recommend it to beginners when using other aldehydes by themselves is overwhelming. It also has subtle base note effects.