Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Vintage Coty Perfumes, Reconsidered

As requested by Cook.bot in the Mixerscent Vintage topic, here’s a new topic to discuss vintage Coty perfumes. I’ve been seeking Coty vintages for a few years now, and I enjoy them very much. I hope you will join in!

For the most part, I believe you have to experience pre-Pfizer era (1963) perfumes to see how good the original Coty compositions could be, although there are exceptions and newer bottles are still quite enjoyable. Coty vintage ads and packaging are also quite delightful.

A complete listing of Coty perfumes can be found in the Perfume Intelligence site (there are FIVE pages in all)

http://www.perfumeintelligence.co.uk...uses/Coty1.htm

Francois Coty founded the house in 1905 and led it until his death in 1934. This first era of Coty perfume was the period of greatest innovation and productivity ,including:

Rose Jacqueminot (1904)
    L'Origan (1905)
    Styx (1911)
    Chypre (1913)
    Muguet de Bois (1913)
    Emeraude (1918)
    Paris (1922)
    L'Aimant (1927)
    A'Suma (1934)

In addition to his role in composing these scents, Coty is always credited with using innovative strategies for marketing perfume--selling products at different price points, using high quality bottles and package designs, offering matched sets of perfumes and beauty products. In 1908, Coty established perfume-making plants outside of Paris that employed more than 9,000 employees and producing as many as 100,000 bottles a day. A US based subsidiary followed in 1921, with the assistance of Jean Desprez.