Code of Conduct

Lightbulb Using up mediocre formulas

Hi all, I am a beginner and today I have been doing some cleaning and organizing in my little hobby lab. I’m just to the point where I have to figure out what to do with my experiments that I don’t plan to use for anything. Some of them might be perfectly pleasant to someone somewhere but I don’t want them. In most cases they were a stepping stone toward something I like better that ill just store away.

Im thinking room freshener is probably the way for me to go. Since I currently work in tiny amounts and each “experiment” usually only amounts to about one gram, I recently had the idea that I would make tiny candles and just dump in the experiment to the wax, cross my fingers, and see what happens. I do have tiny amounts of alcohol in my mixtures— I dilute viscous, potent, or precious materials in alcohol generally but otherwise just work neat—but it seems so nominal an amount of alcohol as not to matter, as far as fire risk, in a candle? To be clear, I wouldn’t want to sell these, just to use myself or give away to someone! This might also help me learn what works in candles and what doesn’t, in theory.

My other idea is using diffusers, the kind where you put drops of fragrance onto cartridges of thick paper and then it disperses fragrance by heat. Or, I could just drip fragrance onto paper and clip them on a fan.

What do the big kids do with something they’re tinkering with but it is not the final version? When you have something pretty nice but boring, or a little too much of this or that, but kind of okay? I started a jar of waste but I felt sad just dumping what I know contained tuberose and jasmine absolute.

Interested in any thoughts you have on what you do with this sort of material.

Basenotes Plus

Default Re: Using up mediocre formulas