Code of Conduct

Default Spectacles/eyewar - looking for communities like basenotes

Coming of age means a need for glasses, at least for me. Im a total newbie and dont know what to look for, or where. But I suspect there is a world out there with quality/style beyond the big chains.

Can you recommend any community or specific brands to look into? I think Im into small round/oval frames, metal and with a somewhat raw look... "Hand made".

Whats the Fazzolari/Roja/Kurkdjian/etc of eyeware frames?

Thanks in advance!
    "Wonderfully wild, eminently civilized" - Derby by Guerlain

My swap thread

Default Re: Spectacles/eyewar - looking for communities like basenotes

Most of the glasses frames in the world are made by the same manufacturers, so if you want artisan craftsmanship you'll have to look pretty hard (and probably pay a pretty penny, too).
    The Brooks Otterlake Swap Thread

Autumn Favorites
    Aramis Special Blend, Aramis Tuscany per Uomo, Guerlain Hritage EDT, Guerlain L'Instant Pour Homme EDT, Lalique Hommage L'Homme, Michael Kors Michael for Men (vintage), Odori Tabacco, Perfumes of the Desert Pinon, Tom Ford Noir Anthracite

Basenotes Plus

My friends daughter manages a Warby Parker store in Boston, but I see that the co-founder was born just outside Stockholm. Check them out. They happen to be relatively inexpensive.

And, as Brooks noted, you may want to try doing a search for “glasses not made by Luxottica”.

Thanks for the advice. I have never heard of Luxottica, and you suggestion to avoid that led me to a long list of indie brands.
    "Wonderfully wild, eminently civilized" - Derby by Guerlain

My swap thread

Basenotes Junkie

Dita
    Parfum de Marly Oajan

Quote Originally Posted by Brooks Otterlake View Post
    Most of the glasses frames in the world are made by the same manufacturers, so if you want artisan craftsmanship you'll have to look pretty hard (and probably pay a pretty penny, too).
    This is very true.