Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Compliments...is it a cultural thing?

Hi everyone, I am still new to all this really but I have noticed something...or have I?

Compliments seem to be a significant part of the fragrance community, be it for personal gratification, pleasing others or just knowing you have chosen a good scent compliments seem to be desired even if not directly solicited or invited.

I'm based in the UK and I have relatively little experience in the fragrance community although I have always worn fragrances from when I was a teenager a few short years ago....well perhaps a fair few years....OK many years ago.....oh alright several decades ago....(sigh) OK around 4 to be more specific.....happy now?

Anyway, I read on here and elsewhere that a lot of you guys get unsolicited 'compliments' on a fairly regular basis but despite having several very nice frags I hardly if ever receive any, even from my wife in fact especially from my wife who seems to be totally indifferent to whatever fragrance I'm wearing unless she dislikes it in which case she will tell me in no uncertain terms.
    She's only ever commented positively when I wear Cool Water 'Wave' and 'Joop Homme'. She once commented that something smelt 'rather lovely' when I first sampled 'Dior Sauvage' but never since I bought a full bottle and started wearing it properly.

Anyway, at work I have never had a compliment and I've worn some very nice frags to the office and to client meetings etc.
    I'm beginning to wonder if it's a cultural thing and that here in Blighty we are just too conservative and restrained to actually pay an unsolicited compliment on a fragrance. Perhaps it's just 'not the done thing old bean...I mean we're British...stiff upper lip and all that'...

You guys across the pond however, seem to get them all the time from the girls and guys in your work places so perhaps you're all a lot less uptight than us over here in the UK?