Code of Conduct

Smile White Shoulders/Diva--How to tell if a vintage fragrance is original or reformulation

Hi all. I'm a newbie here and could use some help. I've been looking for White Shoulders by Evyan and Diva by Ungaro. I believe both have been reformulated at some point and I'm finding a lot of different bottles online. My mother swears that the White Shoulders currently available just isn't the same. She says "real" White Shoulders used to have a pink cap. I remember those bottles from when I was a child, but does the pink cap really mean anything? What about Diva? Some bottles say Emanuel Ungaro and some say just Ungaro. Little details of perfume packaging seem to change frequently.
    Is there a noticeable difference between the original fragrance and the reformulation? If they are different, how would I know which is which? What should I look for on the bottle or the label? Is a fragrance that's perhaps decades old still wearable? I'm confused. I've searched the forum, but many of the posts are several years old and the links to photos, etc. no longer function. Any advice would be greatly appreciated and save me a lot of trial and error.

Basenotes Plus

Default Re: White Shoulders/Diva--How to tell if a vintage fragrance is original or reformulation

Hi aab--

Welcome to Basenotes! Your mom is right: in many cases, there is a big difference between the original fragrance and a current version. Vintage fragrances in good condition are wearable. I wear vintage perfume nearly every day.

The blog "Raiders of the Lost Scent" has a lot of great information about dating vintages. If you can see the box, a simple clue is the short ingredient list -- something like "alcohol, fragrance, water" rather than a modern list with all of the ingredients.

With Diva, the older bottles say "Ungaro" only. I have both, and the older Ungaro-only Diva is definitely better composition.