Code of Conduct

Thread: Hinokitiol

Question Hinokitiol

If you could only pair one natural or nature identical compound with hinokitiol and nootkatone, what would it be?

Default Re: Hinokitiol

Are you actually asking what pairs best with these materials, or is there something else under your question?

Yes, looking to build a very simple accord. Something that takes the mossy, forest floor edge off of hinokitiol.
    I would like to work with nootkatone now that biotech has learned how to make it / price should come down.
    I'm figuring since hinokitiol is from western red cedar and nootkatone is present in Alaskan yellow cedar, the two should pair fairly well together.

Just wondering what my next material purchase should be to round off those two. I would like to build something very light and pleasant and not necessarily complex or lasting.
    (I'm new to the craft and to the forum so please forgive me if I've broken any of the etiquette rules).

I don't think one ingredient is going to do the trick, and I haven't smelled either by themselves, but perhaps Vetiver or Cedar. Or you could go the sweet route with benzoin or labdanum.

I don't see why anyone would just use hinokitiol by itself. You might as well just use Hinoki EO and get all those other nice natural fragrance compounds in the mix.
    I personally think Hinoki would smell [even] better if it had less hinokitiol.

By the way, I gave a detailed description of what Hinoki smells like with Pomelo EO here: http://www.basenotes.net/threads/452...d-Frankincense
    (Hinoki is high in hinokitiol and Pomelo EO is fairly high in nootkatone, which due to the simpler fragrance profile stands out better than it does in Grapefruit EO)

Thanks Runstile. Is there a preferred Cedar, for a fresh, uplifting scent?