Code of Conduct

Default Help/ Advice Understanding Perfume Creation

Hi! I'm a budding perfumer hobbyist and I'm trying to understand some basics of perfumery. Do I have the basic idea of perfume creation correct?

1) create a heart accord (or base accord) which appeals to you,
    2) build the rest of the perfume around that accord using complementing top and base notes?
    3) Modify your oils as you find pleasing to your nose and use 'blenders' for a smooth transition between top, middle, and base notes.

I've found explicitly stated formulas shared online which I've tried with success but I'd like to create a perfume of my own. I'm not trained in chemistry or mathematics so I guess my approach is limited to more of a gut level art rather than technical. Thanks!

Basenotes Plus

Default Re: Help/ Advice Understanding Perfume Creation

For as untrained as you say, your concept is just fine for where you sit.

The one modification I might offer is that the term "blenders", now as fairly experienced, seems to me to be an immature way to define some raw materials.
    This seems to stem from not having a better understanding of these raw materials, of their interplay and relative strengths as against other raw materials.
    Just because something is weaker, and doesn't scream at you, doesn't make it a "blender", it just makes it useful for what it is, in larger quantities than other materials that are much louder and have greater volume and diffusion.

If you correlate the Jean Carles method of balancing a pair of materials, just because one material is louder and one is softer, the softer material isn't a blender, it's just a softer material.
    Paul Kiler
    PK Perfumes
    http://www.PKPERFUMES.com
    In addition to Our own PK line, we make Custom Bespoke Perfumes, perfumes for Entrepreneurs needing scents for perfumes or products, Custom Wedding Perfumes, and even Special Event Perfumes.