Code of Conduct

Default How to make Neroli Portofino style accord?

Hey all,

I'm new to DIY perfumery and am attempting to make a neroli-oud blend. Only issue is, that real neroli oil smells nothing like the neroli accord in Tom Ford Neroli Portofino Forte, nor does real basil oil smell anything like the basil note in it.

Can anyone help me out on what I should use to approximate the neroli and basil notes in NP Forte?
    Top 10:
    1. Mancera Aoud Lemon Mint
    2. FM Carnal Flower/TF Neroli Portofino Forte
    3. Le Labo Bergamote 22/Mancera Soleil d'Italie
    4. Dior Oud Ispahan/Mancera Aoud Line
    5. Bond No. 9 Eau de New York/Bleecker Street
    6. Amouage Beach Hut Man/AdG Essenza
    7. MFK Grand Soir/Oud Satin Mood/Aqua Celestia Forte
    8. TF Tobacco Vanille/Venetian Bergamot/Mandarino di Amalfi/Azure Lime/Vert Boheme/Italian Cypress/Oud Minerale
    9. Creed OV/RM/GIT/SMW
    10. AdP Essenza/Club/Oud

Default Re: How to make Neroli Portofino style accord?

I have not smelled the perfume you are asking but wanted to provide the information that real neroli oil costs in the neighborhood of $300/oz and up. If you paid less than this, your source provided a fake.

Also, while the commercial perfume won't have used real neroli, it could be worth pointing out that real perfumes commonly have notes that make up only 5% or even only 1% or less of the formulation. Beginners, having only relatively few materials, tend to use things at much higher percentages. If for example basil really is used in a formula, the finished product may not seem like "real basil" except if used to working with it at low concentrations. For example, I ordinarily use basil at only 1 or 2%.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Roberts View Post
    I have not smelled the perfume you are asking but wanted to provide the information that real neroli oil costs in the neighborhood of $300/oz and up. If you paid less than this, your source provided a fake.