Code of Conduct
o

Default How to pick black dress shoes

So I'm piecing together my professional/formal wardrobe. Got the pants, dress shirts, got a nice coat. The only thing missing is the footwear.

I thought I could cheap it out by buying some black dress shoes from Marshalls or TJ Maxx. Bad idea as I'm learning cheap dress shoes are not going to last and going to get wrinkles and creases and look real shabby real fast.

Any recommendations on where to go, stores or online? Brands or styles that I should stick too? I'm not good with current fashions so I don't know what works and what doesn't.

EDIT

Okay, a quick Youtube video brought me up to speed on dress shoes.

Closed lace, with a curved cap toe with no designs is business-like and still formal.
    And apparently around the $300 mark will be a shoe that will last. $100 or less will apparently get shabby quickly.

Default Re: How to pick black dress shoes

If you're looking to go on a budget and aren't in a rush, Beckett Simonon will be among the best deals you can find in this arena.

Dependent

Nordstrom has Johnston Murphy Monk Strap for $149, great looking shoe.

Capture.JPG
    Currently wearing: Green Irish Tweed by Creed

Reside in McLean, Va., Manhattan NYC, Manuel Antonio Costa Rica & Búzios Brasil

Quote Originally Posted by Hugh V. View Post
    And apparently around the $300 mark will be a shoe that will last.
    If you're going with a brick and mortar store, and you want quality and class, go with Nieman Marcus.
    Remember that while it is perfectly acceptable to criticize the content of a post - criticizing the poster is not.
    Mean spirited, nasty, snide, sarcastic, hateful, and rude individuals on Basenotes don't warrant or deserve my or other Basenoters' acknowledgement or respect.

Basenotes Plus

At that price point, I would head over to Allen Edmonds. Using a pair of cedar trees will help them keep their shape/avoid creasing and absorb moisture.