Code of Conduct

Default Confused regarding IFRA guidelines

I am very new to this hobby of making perfumes for personal use, so please excuse my ignorance. I bought some fragrance oils from Indigo Fragrance and on their website, each oil comes with IFRA guidelines for how much I should use based on the type of product. I want to make an alcohol-based perfume spray (I will probably get perfumer's alcohol as pure grain alcohol like Everclear 190 is near impossible to buy in the DMV region. If anyone has any good suggestions on brands or where I should buy an alcohol solvent, please do let me know!)

So here's my problem:

Let's take this fragrance oil as an example (https://www.indigofragrance.com/item...grance-Oil.htm). If I want to make a perfume spray, it would be a Category 4 per IFRA. Under Category 4, this oil should not comprise of more than 0.07% of the entire fragrance. 0.07%(7 out of 10,000 drops) seems like an extremely insignificant amount that I'm not sure if it would even smell like anything? Are they sure they don't mean 7% (7 out of 100 drops)? If I am making a 1 oz (30 mL) spray, 0.07% would equate to 0.02 mL (0.0007*30). How would I even calculate that without making an extremely large batch that is impractical?

Is my math wrong, or am I misunderstanding this guideline?

And if my math is correct, is it okay for me to make the perfume entirely of just fragrance oil + alcohol? Why do so many perfume sprays list distilled water as the first ingredient? I don't want to risk making my spray cloudy so I don't want to add any water, but how do the commercial guys get away with it?

Thank you in advance.

Default Re: Confused regarding IFRA guidelines

Your link has a 404 page not found.

But yes, IFRA restrictions are real. However I wouldn't advise to build an entire perfume based of 1 single ingredient alone. Your gonna want to use that oil in conjunction with other things.....a lot of other things.
    ...bathing in perfumes...