Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 2974
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Amaranthine by Penhaligon's

The opening is an intriguing mix of banana leaves, white freesias, coriander and cardamom, and unroasted green tea. Theses ingredients combine to a rather unique herbal spice impression, which makes for an unexpected start.

A floral potpourri characterises the drydown, with a green jasmin and an ylang-ylng dominant on me; the latter is elegant and less creamy than most of the usual varieties. a nice carnation with touches of orange blossom, as well as weak and somewhat bland rose are preset a bit later. A docreet clove is lurkig in the backgound only, this, in essence, is a floral.

The base presents a vanilla/tonka core, which is modified by the addition of an impression on condensed milk; the result is another unexpected twist, transforming the standard and expected notes found so often in the later stages of fragrances, transformed into an unusual result. A singly olfactory brushstroke, skillfully apply, makes all the difference. Other notes in the base are nonspecific woody in nature, with the occasional moment of a synthetic sandalwood making an appearance, with some white musks providing additional nuances towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection, and sic hours of longevity on my skin.

A lovely spring scent, with some original twists and skillfully blended, mostly so at the start. Some later moments as rather generic though, but overall this an attractive creation. 3.5/5


23rd January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Sartorial by Penhaligon's

After a brief aldedydic-metallic blast, a violet leaf, a neroli note (soft and smooth), some cardamom and a pepper note combine to a rather unique impression that is full of discreet fresh and slightly herbal spices. at times touches of ginger give it a slightly crisper touch. An intriguing start.

The drydown brings out floral elements, mainly a pleasant lavender, with linden blossom and tins of beeswax, which all contribute a discreet background sweetness.

The base adds a smooth leathery undertone together with wood notes, mainly cedar and a touch of gurgum presumably (it is rather weak), with the herbal-spice note being enhanced by a myrrh impression that combines with a darker patchouli. This patchouli is rather soft without any harshness or edges. The sweet side is further affirmed by a discreetly honeyed tonka together with a set of white musks, but these find a counterbalance in the emergence of a restrained ambery oakmoss with an underlying carpet of white musks underneath. Towards the end I get a bright and somewhat soapy background impression.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

The first half of this spring scent presents an interesting and quite various array of a combination of elements, with the softly spicy character the main constant that holds it together. It is only in the base that the name appears more relevant, with the leather and woods alluding to the tailoring profession's premises.

The first part is the more original part with its interesting twists, whilst the second part, which displays the sartorial theme, is the more predictable, traditional, and also the more generic one, with many of the vast array of ingredients unable to develop fully - "the more the merrier" appears to be the motto here. Some of the base ingredients are of good quality though. Overall though an nice creation. 3.5/5

22nd January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Ellenisia by Penhaligon's

The opening blast is a citrus attack, with mandarin zest and whiffs of tangelos, but soon a darker-green-herbal impression of violet leaves arises, with whiffs of actual violets appearing too.

The drydown constitutes a shift into the floral realm, here it remains until towards the end. Gardenia and tuberose are dominant firstly, with the latter being equally bright and optimistic, without any indolic or waxy characteristics on me. later on a satisfactory jasmine is evident, as is a rather anaemic rose, which never really develops to an interesting or significant contribution to the whole on me.

The base adds a bit of plum nectar, quite a good implementation of this note, and a restrained vanilla that is more an accompaniment than the usual dominating-creamy version found so often.

I get moderate, sillage, excellent projection, and a excellent ten hours of longevity on my skin.


A delightful floral spring composition, bright and agreeable, floral-sweet but never too heavy or cloying. The performance is very good. 3.5/5
21st January, 2021
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Infusion d'Homme by Prada

The citrus opening is a nice one, orange, mandarin - both discreetly sweet in character - underlines by a bright and light neroli.

In the drydown the iris develops; it is a pleasant green iris, which dominates the heart notes. It is accompanied be a very discreet galbanum, which adds a gentle spiciness in the background. A soft vetiver comes and goes, whilst a cedarwood impression develops further in the development that lead towards the base.
With times the iris develops a clean and powdery undertone. This is a fresh and bright powderiness with a slight lipstick accent, which lacks any dowager-style boudoir-mustiness. Glimpses of frankincense and a restrained benzoin appear closer towards the end, with the spiciness and the powderiness of the iris creating an interesting finale.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and an excellent eleven hours of longevity on my skin.

A very agreeable scent for warmer spring days, with a citrus-floral first half that changes into a gently spicy second stage. Is has some original features, shows good development and texture, but some components can be a bit synthetic at times; the performance is excellent. Overall a good creation. 3.25/5
20th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Infusion Mandarine by Prada

The opening in drenched in delightful citrus aromas: an orange that is of the acidity and discreet bitterness of a diluted orange peel, which merges with a slightly acidic mandarin impression.

Later on a soft neroli is added with some orange blossom and whiffs of a light and transient bright woody undertone.

The aftermath is a very restrained opoponax, which is really more faint shadow on me and just adds a touch of depth to the whole mix. The end adds a whiff of fresh laundry smell to it.

I get soft sillage, limited projection, and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This summer citrus scent is - especially in the beginning - a gorgeous and quite bright composition, which is not of the refreshing invigorating type like Hermes' original Eau d'Orange Verte, Monsieur Balmain, or Penhaligon's Extract of Lime. This is a composition that is more glowing than shining refreshingly brightly. On the whole this is quite a nice creation, with the ingredients mostly of good quality, albeit lacking intensity and depth; the performance is limited. Summertime fun. 3.5/5
19th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Infusion d'Iris L'Eau d'Iris by Prada

The first impression is a mix of a semi-bright mint that is intertwined with a smooth neroli, which displays just a touch of gentle earthiness. There is not harshness or earthiness in this neroli. A laurel- herbal undertone evolves after a short while, which gives an interesting twist to the top notes..

The drydown changes to a floral phase, with an iris and some orange blossom present. Touches of a rose with some muguet are arriving a bit later.

The base is basically a set of dominant white musks, with hints of vanilla and a nonspecific woodsiness arriving towards the end.

I get soft sillage, limited projection and an overall longevity of five hours on my skin.

The initial phases of this summery scent are quite pleasant and not without a creative touch, but after about half an hour is collapses rather rapidly on me. Not only does it become very generic, but the base is only perceptible when I burrow my nose deep into the subcutaneous layers.
Overall 2.75/5
18th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Newport (new) by Caswell-Massey

The opening is a fresh mix of mandarin and bergamot, which makes for a fresh start. After a brief while it assumes a slightly ozonic character.

The drydown turns floral. Initially I get mainly a pleasant geranium, with an agreeable lavender-lavandin in tow; these two work together well. Later on a muguet develops, enriched by a bright impression of rose petals, but the latter two notes are rather weak and flat on me.

The base is constituted a woodsy syrup, sandalwood and cedar purportedly, but rather nonspecific on me, with an undertone of slightly fruity-sweetish white musks at times.

I get moderate sillage, good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

The first half of this spring scent for cooler days is quite agreeable it is fresh and floral composition, but the second half degenerates into a generic and synthetic epithet of mediocrity. Overall it does not go beyond a middle-of-the-road product. The accompanying triple-milled bath soap is nice, and the shaving soap gives off a very good scent and excellent lather. 2.75/5
17th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Infusion de Mimosa by Prada

The opening expresses anise anise, which is nice, bright and quite elegant. Touches and mandarin and whiffs of tangelos add an undertone of a citrus nature.

The mimosa sets in soon; it is a tender and light flower, seconded by a transparent and bright notes of rose petals.

The base is of nonspecific woodsy nature, with a transient whiff of young sweetwood.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection, and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

The transparent and high-crystalline character of this summer scent is appealing; its main drawback is the anaemic lack of vividness and the thinness of the notes, even after liberal application. quite nice overall. 2.75/5
16th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Infusion d'Iris by Prada

In the beginning was the iris. A clean, bright but restrained iris, which is given added light by hints of orange blossom or mandarin but only very faintly. The occasional fresh laundry-character moment is notable.

Soon a gently spicy note of benzoin and galbanum adds a bit more depth, which at times has an undertone w white pepper and suede. The iris breaks through here and there for a while before the spices take over.

During the second half of the development a cedarwood arises that is equally restrained, but dominates the mix towards the end.

I get soft sillage, limited projection, and six hour of longevity on my skin - with liberal application.

A summer floral scent, a decent iris creation but lacking vividness and texture, and the performance is nothing to write home about. 2.75/5

15th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Prada Candy Kiss by Prada

Bergamot and orange blossom in the opnieng blast - bright, fresh, and optimistic. Simple, but not bad.

The drydown is mainly composed of a muguet impression, which is not particularly vibrant or impressive, but it is adequate.

The base is mainly made up of white musks, and more white musks. An undertone of vanilla makes an appearance, but on me the musks ore the predominant note.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

An agreeable, albeit predictable, floral spring composition that has no candy-like character at all - this flanker is the odd one out in the Candy series. A bit generic though. A Candy for those who dislike candy. 2.75/5
14th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Luna Rossa Carbon by Prada

The opening is bright: bergamot and citrus initially, soon laced with a restrained white pepper. A good start.

The drydown adds a lavender note that is agreeable at first, but develops into a rather bland form of lavender that peters out with time. There are more vivid lavender notes around.

The base adds a friendly and light patchouli that has an ambery undertone, is soft and lacks any edges.
Later on a nonspecific fruitiness is evident in the background; this retreats after a while closer to the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection, and an excellent ten hours of longevity on my skin.

This scent for cooler summer days starts off all right, but soon develops into a rather generic and synthetic concoction. One cannot complain about the good performance. The bergamot, amber, lavender and patchouli are all ingredients of Dior's Sauvage too, and hence the two are often mentioned in the same breath, but Luna Rossa Carbon evinces less of the laboratory-created synthetic tedium that characterises Sauvage to sone extent. 2.5/5
13th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Prada L'Homme Intense by Prada

A lot of tonka - that is want I get initially. A nice, intense but quite civil tonka that is neither too intrusive nor cloying. An iris is present too, bit on me it is very much a background accompaniment only.

A bit later a soft and light suede impression is added on; it is not intense but still manages to be sufficiently strong to make a good contribution to the whole.

Further done the track and ambery patchouli is of notice. this is a safe duo, that acts as a counterpart to the sweeter accords, but overall it remains a sweet-ish creation. There are a few moments of whiffs of sweetwood-like aroma being present.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant scent for warmer autumn days, it is is not particularly original or exciting, and at times a bit generic. On the other hand, the notes are quite intense at times, and the are blended very well in a harmonious and balanced way. This is a case where the flanker is better than the original. 3.25/5

Iris, Leather, Tonka, Amber, Patchouli
12th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Prada La Femme Intense by Prada

The dyad of ylang-ylang and tuberose greets me straight from the beginning. The yang-ylang is open, bright and smooth, but neither heavy nor creamy on me. The tuberose is similarly bright, elegant, and lacks any darkness or waxiness to it.

A bit later a soft and optimistic patchouli arises; a patchouli that exudes friendliness and positivity.

I get moderate sillage, good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

An uplifting scent for warmer and sunny spring days; it is a bit linear at times, and whilst it is nothing sensational, it is blended very well indeed. Simple in structure and a bit predictable, it is a well-executed tri-flore creation. 3.25/5
11th January, 2021
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Infusion d'Oeillet by Prada

A mandarin opening with a good spicy touch after the first few seconds, which is a mix if styrax a a good lashing of clove. The carnation that gives the product its name is not really strong on me, and integrating well; I would not call it a dominant component. Later on a sandalwood, the Australian variety, makes an appearance in the background.

Additional components of note are a soft and smooth, slightly green Indonesian patchouli, which adds a pleasant nuance to the mix.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This scent for cooler autumn days is a bit of a misnomer, as the carnation is not its main protagonist; is is not bad, but too generic at times. 2.75/5
10th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Prada L'Homme by Prada

It is the iris that greets me me first. Pleasant, bright, and a touch powdery. The brightness is reenforced by a neroli that is a bit bland, whereas an accompanying geranium develops better on me.

Towards the and a soft and ambery patchouli makes an appearance, given some added depth by some cardamom.

I het moderate sillage, good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent is bright, but, apart from the somewhat charming iris the components are a bit too generic to entice; but even the iris lacks the vividness that cahracterised the iris in, for instance, the earlier emanations of Dior Homme. Overall 2.75/5
09th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Prada Candy L'Eau by Prada

A brief lemon-bases citrus blast greets me in the initial moments. Soon a somewhat sickly, sweet and quite intense candy note appears, which last for a while.

Later on a green impression of sweet peas in evident, and after a while the sweetness rescinds a bit, leaving the other notes a chance to develop fully.

Heading towards the base, a caramel impression develops, which is lacking the candy characteristic; it is actually quite a pure and simple note. Towards the end a fairly discreet benzoin, with concurrent lashings of white musks are included that are also not too heavy or cloying.

I get moderate sillage, good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This scent for warmer autumn days is very sweet at times, but quite pleasant for the rest of the time, and with an original twist.
Overall 2.75/5
08th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

L'Eau Ambrée by Prada

The opening is a flash of citrus brightness, carried by mandarin, tangerine, and cedrat lemon. This lasts only a minute or so, before the floral side kicks in.

May rose is the first flower that arises, a bright and light rose blossom that is not dark at all on me. A gardenia appears in the backgound, backed up by a weak jasmine that is a bit metallic and not convincing.
Most importantly, the amber is in the foreground in the drydown. A lovely Somalian opoponax is part of this, with lovely Indonesian patchouli.

In the base a touch of a vanilla note is added, that is more an accompaniment adding extra doses of sweetness and depth.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant scent for cooler spring days and evenings,
with some notes a bit bland, but some of quite good quality, and a good amber impression that is light and elegant. Not at all loud or cloying. Overall 3.25/5
07th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Prada La Femme by Prada

The opening displays the spicy characteristics of the frangipani very nicely. Soon a lovely tuberose joins in; a clean, bright and elegant tuberose that lacks and harshness or waxiness on me.

The next important addition is an equally bright ylang-ylang; it more elegant and cheery than creamy and voluptuous on me.

In the base a delectable bees wax in noticeable, with a restrained vanilla providing additional depth. It is a well integrated vanilla in the mixture of notes, with pleasant sweetness that is neither cloying nor overly intrusive. At times a more white floral undertone is noticeable in the background.

I get moderate sillage, good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant spring floral creation that is a bit predictable at times, but made of good-quality ingredients and with some creative touch, albeit a bit linear at times. Overall 3.25/5

06th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Centuries Almond Eau de Toilette by Caswell-Massey

Initially quite an unadulterated almond aroma hits my nose, but soon the tonka arrives and adds sweetness. Still a nice almond though.

Later on a cherry note develops, which adds fruitiness and equals the almond in strength initially and pushes it aside a bit. After a couple of hours the cherry becomes less prominent, and now evolves into a good team player that give the almond/tonka dyad a chance to shine.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and eight hour of longevity on my skin.

In the long run this remains to be a pleasant almond/tonka scent, with the cherry-fruitiness now well integrated, and some white musks providing additional depth. 3.25/5

05th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Centuries Lavender Eau de Toilette by Caswell-Massey

This soliflore might be based on one component only, but boring it is not.

At first I het a bright an fairly green lavender aroma that fills the air. After a while a woodsy undertone develops with some impression of the leaves being increasingly prominent.

Towards the second half a powdery characteristics emanates, but this is not a dowdy boudoir-style powderiness; it is friendly and bright.
I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A lovely sojourn through the realm of lavender, developing various characteristics of this wonderful plant. Maybe not the deepest or most sensational lavender, but a good one exuding natural beauty. 3.75/5
04th January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Luna Rossa Extreme by Prada

Three components are present from the start: a sprightly black pepper, a good labdanum and - just a brief moment later, a bright and slightly green lavender. A very pleasant first impression, livened up a bit more by a smidgen of bergamot being infused into the mix.

After a fruity interlude - juniper with whiffs of raspberries - it becomes sweeter gradually, which is due to a vanilla note, which is adopting characteristics of whiffs of cinnamon at times, without denting the dominant role the vanilla plays at this stage of the development; this dominance is retained until the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This agreeable scent for warmer spring days is different from the original Luna Ross partly due to the strong role the vanilla plays here at the cost of the lavender and also some other notes. It can be a bit generic, but the combination works quite well most of the time. 2.75/5
03rd January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Luna Rossa by Prada

A fresh crisp orange with a whiff of bergamot greet me in the opening blast, followed soon by a lavender that is bright and uplifting.

The top notes merge with the drydown that starts very soon on me, dominated by a spearmint that takes on that takes on ozonic characteristics with whiffs of saltiness also present at times. The bright nature of the mix is preserved so far.

The base is a bland ambery concoction of ambroxan and ambrette, with touches of cashmeran adding to the formulaic and superficial character that can be expected from these components.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity on ma skin.

The opening of this summery scent, which is named after a sailing team, is pleasant and this continues into the heart note. The base is a formulaic, synthetic and generic trough of boredom, like a wood-coloured plastic table compared to a real wood product. Overall 2.75/5
02nd January, 2021
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Beguiled by Roja Dove

The citrus top notes of lemon, tangerine and bergamot last a few seconds only; they are more worked into the following impression; I do not get them as distinctly separate top notes on me.

The core part is a floral blast: rose in the foreground, complimented by a fairly dark and limitedly creamy ylang-ylang, with a lovely jasmine and an understatedly powdery iris note.

The base is mainly a mix of raspberry (leaves and a whiff of the fruit) and a soft and rather dark patchouli; a dash of pink pepper adds a modicum of spice - just a dash. At times a bland and synthetic oak moss appears far away in the background.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

Essentially a nice and fairly sweet floral composition, this scent for cooler spring days sees little development of the non-floral components, which are present but too anaemic in the underground to contribute signficantly to the whole. Overall (just) positive: 3/5
31st December, 2020
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Amore Mio by Roja Dove

After a brief blip of bergamot and mandarin a floral powerhouse bursts into my olfactory perception.

A cluster of a dark rose, a soft and somewhat creamy ylang-ylang, together with a brighter gardenia, a whiff of magnolia, and a rather woody-green jasmine impression - it feels like entering the Chelsea Flower Show. A hit of an earthy violet adds additional depth, with a spicy undertone contributed to by a well-made cistus together with a heliotrope note. The result of the total is quite unique on me.

The base sees the florals being gradually replaced by a sweeter mix, mainly a rich mily-cocoa-infused cinnamon, a velvety tonka/vanilla, and a cedarwood undertone. Other sweet and woodsy aromas cone and go, some with a touch of a balsamic undertone (more Copaiba than Gurjum on me). A darker show is cast over the whole by a patchouli impression, bat the latter is quite soft and lacking and harshness. Many of these components only shine through ere and there, but they form a rich and sweet overall impression.

I get strong sillage, excellent projection, and a good ten hours of longevity on my skin.

The first half of this scent for cooler spring days is a rather original execution of a floral experience using high quality ingredients, whilst the second half's ingredients are a bit more standardised, and some of the later notes are rather week at times and pushed underground. A lovely experience overall, though. 3.5/5
30th December, 2020
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Enigma pour Femme / Creation-E pour Femme by Roja Dove

After a brief initial blast bergamot, the real core sets in: an added mix of rose, geranium, ylang-ylang and jasmine combine to a pleasant potpourri, that is given an interesting spicy twist by the addition of a heliotrope that is intimately entwined with a fruity peach impression. This all results in a quite a unique aroma on me.

The base adds a woodsy undertone, sandal and hints of oak,but the hallmark of this phase is the rise of the vanilla. It is a rich and smooth vanilla with a moderately creamy character, which is given a darker timbre by the addition of a dark and soft patchouli and an orris root note. Touches of a dark musk and a rather generic ambergris lurk under the surface towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection, and a great longevity of eleven hours.

This scent for cooler spring days is not using extraordinarily exotic or unusual ingredients, but in the first half manages to use them in a creative manner. The later parts are not of the same level of originality in blending, but overall this is a good fragrance. 3.5/5
29th December, 2020
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Amber Aoud by Roja Dove

The opening blast starts, as the name promises, with an ambery oud; the oud impression is the core of this creation. A certain glimmer of brightness is provided by a bergamot/lemon/line triad in the first moments only, before the oud takes over. Is is quite a natural oud, rich, intense, and smooth; in all its intensity it is never overly intrusive or cloying.

The drydown sees a darker rose impression rise, which mixes well with the oud but remains a sidekick to olfactory ruler of this team of constituents. Other florals in note are a slim ylang-ylang that lacks any creaminess or thickness on me. A fruity and sweetish fig is a significants contributor to the whole, underlined by a gentle jasmine note.

The base sees the oud retreating a bit. It is modified by a number of other components, mainly a soft dark patchouli, a discreet and smooth oakmoss, and a touch of cinnamon that maintains the sweetness here. A saffron is clearly noticeable too, with some sandal, a hint of orris as well as a musky civet lingering in the backgound and providing a touch of spice on occasions.

I get strong sillage, excellent projection, and a very good ten hours of longevity on me.

This lovely wintery oud creation is well-crafted of high quality ingredients and blended very well, although many of the background notes never have a chance to develop properly, especially the woodsy ones, and I don’t get any of the birch that is listed in the pyramid of ingredients.

Admitting to a bit of oud-rose fragrance fatigue in the face of the oudrageous tsunami of oud-products that has been inundating the perfumery shelves over the last decade or so, one has to bear in mind that this is one if the early representatives of this genre of perfumes, and certainly one if the good ones. The performance is excellent. 3.5/5.
28th December, 2020
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Hamdani by Parfums de Marly

A lovely opening with a particulary good mixture of the myrrh and the frankincense. Neither very heavy, nor very ceremonious or medicinal.

Very soon a very strong and clove impression arises, which goes well with the top notes. A sweetish, as if honeyed, develops in the background, but the clove remains dominant.

In the base a papyrus arises that is quite well done, with touches of benzoin mingling with it. Later a strong leather is evident. This is a nice leather, with not much of a gasoline and just a smigeon of a smoky character; it is a fairly smooth leather but with a touch of a tannin edge to it. Towards the end touches of styrax and sandalwood leave their trace in the distance.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and seven hours of longevity in my skin.

This autumnal scent bears the hallmark of producing sone rather original aromas combining myrrh with clove-centred spices and a fairly soft nappa leather in an interesting way, but some if the ingredients never develop satisfactorily to make a significnt contribution. Overall a good creation though. 3.5/5.
27th December, 2020
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Kalan by Parfums de Marly

The opening blast combines the blood orange with a spicy note with hints of black pepper. a bit later an orange blossom notes adds a bright and optimistic touch.

The drydown ads a somewhat subdued lavender, which after a while struggles to make itself smelt in the whole mix.

The base adds woodsy aromas, a bit like a mix of African whitewood and sandalwood. There is a hint of and ambery tonka hire too, with a soft mossy aroma in the background, but it is rather perfunctory on me.

I get strong sillage, excellent performance, and an very good ten hours of ten hours in my skin.

This autumnal creating lives on the top spice notes that are modified a bit by the lavender, and mainly by the woods and the tonka as the main players over time; the other ingredients are more accompaniments on me. At times it is a bit linear and lacks texture, but the performance is very good. 3/5
26th December, 2020
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Herod by Parfums de Marly

It starts with a cinnamon blast combined with a wood note in the background. After a shike the tobacco develops, a tobacco not very strong, a bit sweetnand blending in well. Some incense arises , with labdanum and osmanthus adding more gentle spiciness.

The base adds a vanilla-base sweetness that enhances the caramel, with a woodosness lingering in the background, including a cedar impression. Some nagarmotha adds a more spicy note again, with a soft patchouli-vetiver duo adding a green and slightly fresher and green touch. Some iso e super adds freshness, which is given added depth by lashings of white musks.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection, and an impressive eleven hours of longevity in my skin.

This is a pleasant autumn gourmand, reminding me of similar products other houses. Less intense than Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford, a bit less spicy than L’ Occitane’s Eau de Beaux, it is more linear and somewhat more generic testimony to such types of gourmand scents. 2.75/5
24th December, 2020
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Ralph Lauren Woman by Ralph Lauren

Well, there is a fruity nit in the beginning, with some pears in the opening section. Rhubarb and blackcurrant are very much in opening, with some pear also.

Then the tunerose arrives, and dominate the rest. A Turkish Rose with some orange blossom develop concurrently, with a woodsy base with a hazelnut too.
I get moderate sillage, excellent projection, , and ten hours if longevity on my skin.

A spring tuberose this is, an nice one. 3/5.
23rd December, 2020