Perfume Reviews

Reviews by joov84

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 36

Casamorati Italica by Xerjoff

My favorite gourmand and a wonderful, delicious fragrance

This opens up a little bit on the oriental side due to the saffron. there is a buscuity note in the opening with a hint of a strawberry like note. The almond and milk quickly appear followed by the vanilla and toffee making it smell close to cookies. its milky and sweet but not overly sweet or cloying.

also, its a unisex fragrance and is very suitable for men even though its a sweet gourmand. its absolutely delicious and its the best gourmand and most gourmandish fragrance i have come across so far. also, the bottle design is unique and fantastic.

performance is strong on this one. it fills up a room with a few sprays.

overall rating: 9.2 / 10
09th July, 2020

Les Nombres d'Or : Vanille by Mona di Orio

Spicy, dry, Classy, vanillic fragrance

Such a great fragrance. starts off on the spicy side with a big dose of cloves, slightly boozy with some oranges. it then starts to get drier and sweeter due to the woods and vanilla. it has a dry, zesty, metallic, slightly sweet, slightly powdery vibe. very classy fragrance. it has just hints of similarities with both chanel egoiste and musc ravageur.

Performance is above average.

overall score: 8.8/10
09th July, 2020

Spice Blend by Christian Dior

Rum and spices (cinnamon and pink pepper) with woody undertones. Supposed to be bay rum in there. I haven't smelled that before .
It's transparent airy and slightly sweet . Some bubblegum vibe in opening . It has something that reminds me a bit of balade sauvage which makes it steer away from being a masculine spicy fragrance.

7.8/10
09th July, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Psychédélique by Jovoy

Dark slightly medicinal ambered patchouli

what a lovely fragrance. This is my favorite Jovoy and favorite Patchouli fragrance.
It starts with a dark slightly medicinal patchouli. the medicinal vibe is reminiscent of the opening notes of some medicinal natural ouds even though this fragrance doesn't contain oud. it then mellows down and the patchouli is joined by an ambery smooth note with some vanilla. the combination of notes gives off a dark chocolaty feel . Performance is very good 9/10.

Overall Score 8.8/10
09th July, 2020

Patchouli Ardent by Guerlain

First impressions:

Starts off with pepper and figs which provide a green slightly dusty feel specially when smelled up close . From a distance it smells quite fermented/ boozy with some sweet spiciness. The figs die down quickly and more of the patchouli appears with just a bit of rose . It remains quite fermented/boozy. The patchouli is not that dominant and it's not dark and earthy. It blends well with some wood and musk from the base notes providing a smooth blend. The leather provides a backbone. Each note plays it's role. I got a slightly above average performance .
09th July, 2020

Tobacco Oud by Tom Ford

A slightly sweet spicy/ashy boozy tobacco

A Fantastic boozy slightly sweet whiskey, spice (cinnamon), ashy tobacco (including unlit cigars) with some benzoin and amber in the drydown. Excellent performance.

Overall score: 9.2/10
09th July, 2020

The Moon by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

A sweet/sour/smoky raspberry flavoured shisha with quality leather and a slightly burnt oud chips undertone.
Excellent performance (beastly). Fantastic.

Overall score: 9.2/10
09th July, 2020

Coffee Break : Golden Dallah by Xerjoff

Golden Dallah initial review: Warm, Unique, inviting, dark, spicy, coffee /chocolate fragrance.

Wow. Now this is something special, warm and inviting. Straight off I get chocolates (slightly boozy) and right underneath are those spices used within Arabic coffee. Arabic coffee is mostly unroasted and we add spices to it (cardamom is a must , cloves , saffron some add cinnamon and ginger ). It's served using a Dallah hence the name here . So we have here Arabic coffee with its spices after that chocolate blast along with a good amount of incense. The chocolate then becomes more dusty. Some sweetness comes along from amber and tonka. Arabic coffee is usually served with something sweet including dates, chocolates or other sweets . It's used mostly in special events, visits, gatherings and religious holidays. Many burn oud (incense/bukhoor) in such environments. I see the image they are trying to get at . Rose? maybe there is a small amount.

It's a unique fragrance. I don't recall any fragrance that smells close to it . It has an idea and image behind it. its creative. I'm very impressed .

Performance is very good.
13th June, 2020

Santal Noir by Christian Dior

Santal Noir: A semi-gourmandish sweet jammy creamy slightly rosy sandalwood.

starts off sweet boozy and jammy. i get an orange/fruit jam with a slightly creamy vibe that gives me an image of fruit jam with cupcakes. its not a full-on gourmand though neither is it too sweet. The rose is there and its jammy but its not too prominent. the sandalwood appears more and more as it dries down. its not a sharp/medicinal sandalwood though.
its very very different from oud ispahan. also different from santal royal and ambre nuit

Both projection and longevity are very good.

Overall score: 8.4/10
22nd February, 2020

Fragrance One : Office for Men by Jeremy Fragrance

Fragrance One - Office for Men Initial Review

A modern, versatile, citrusy, peppery woody fragrance

This starts of with an uplifting big burst of bergamot which is acidic and slightly bitter (in a good way). the bitterness of the bergamot makes it come of smelling almost like grapefruit. strong yet not sharp as it is quickly joined by a small amount of ambrox and a hint of Iris which make it smooth and slightly clean but not powdery. the bergamot manages to last for a good while. Pepper starts appearing a good 30 minutes on and gradually become more apparent. There is a hint of florals too but no jasmin. The woods then join the pepper to produce the base of this fragrance which basically smell like pepper and wood with some patchouli for at least 7 hours. There is minimal sweetness in this fragrance and it's masculine .
Performance is slightly above average.

In terms of comparisons to other fragrances. The similarity to each of Sauvage and BDC is no more than 10%. A little bit more similarity to aventus especially in the first hour . Maybe 25% or so on average. its more similar to the new Aventus Cologne. So this is its own fragrance and is not a clone of anything out there.

Versatility is very good which makes it very much suitable for office use. its way of from being a clubbing scent.

Overall Score: 7.5/10
13th May, 2019 (last edited: 20th June, 2019)

Lost Cherry by Tom Ford

A sweet boozy cherry tobacco scent with roasted almond/tonka and some woods.

I was pleasantly surprised by this one.
this starts off with a huge dark sweet cherry note which tones down quickly within 5 minutes. i then get some boozy cherry tobacco along with slightly roasted almonds. at this stage it reminds me just a little bit of some of the notes in tobacco vanille. i dont get the rose and jasmin.

After that it gradually gets more woody (cedarwood), more balsamic and less sweet/almondy over the course of 3 hours. by the 4 hour mark the scent is woody with some tonka and vanilla, some remains of the cherry note and just a hint of those spices. lasts 6 plus hours and has moderate projection its not weak at all by any means.
also, its totally unisex.
Overall score 8.2/10
20th April, 2019

Viking by Creed

Creed Viking Mini- Review

A citrusy, fresh spicy, fiery, minty, woody fragrance. Edgy, complex, mature, confident and masculine.

Opening: What a wonderful complex fragrance this is. as soon as i spray it i get hit with a combination of citruses with a dense green (mint) and pepper notes. the combination kinda gave me a clove like note but certainly not cinnamon. the opening gives off a slightly old vibe and might remind some people of things from the nineties.

Mid: It then gradually sweetens up a little bit with the pepper and mint staying in full force and getting joined by some patchouli. i don't get the rose here.

Base: as it dries down it becomes drier and woodier eventually reaching the base which is as wonderful as the top and mid. the drydown is very woody (sandalwood) with
slightly ashy/smoky nuances.

performance: longevity on my skin is 10 plus hours. projection is moderate which i wish was stronger.


Overall score: 8.8/10
03rd October, 2017

Barista Collection : Tonkaccino by Daniel Barros

A huge letdown.
i had high hopes about this one based on the information. it has nothing to do with coffee nor tonka and it smelled awful to me. i almost gagged when i tried it a few times.
15th February, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Musc Ravageur by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

A fantastic spicy, musky, creamy,powdery vanillic fragrance.

This has been one of my all time favorite fragrances for many years. It starts off with some citrus along with cloves and cinnamon. the cloves starts to decrease leaving room for the cinnamon, musk, Tonka and vanilla to take over and transform the smell into a border-line gourmand .it is also powdery. I don't find this fragrance particularly dirty or anything like that.
Performance is excellent on older batches. both 2009 and 2014.

9.2/10
10th November, 2016 (last edited: 09th July, 2020)

Hermèssence Ambre Narguilé by Hermès

a sweet, transparent, spicy gourmand.

ambre narguile is an amazing fragrance. i get honey, cinnamon, booze, gentle smokiness, tobacco and vanilla. it does remind me of warm apple pies. the smell is warm and transparent. never too thick or harsh even though it has honey. one of my all time favorites. gets compliments and performs very well.

9.2/10
10th November, 2016 (last edited: 09th July, 2020)

Valentino Uomo Intense by Valentino

A sweet, powdery vanillic scent.

This opens up with powdery Iris reminiscent of that found in DHI. as it dries down it starts to get more sweet from the vanilla and tonka with hints of leather.

Performance is excellent 9/10

Overall score 7.8/10
10th November, 2016 (last edited: 06th April, 2017)

Dior Homme Parfum by Christian Dior

leathery, powdery, woody oriental fragrance

Dior homme parfum is a deep and complex fragrance. it has more leather and woods; and less vanilla than dior homme intense. there is also an oriental (oudy) and smoky element in this. it is still very powdery due to the iris yet less sweet than dior homme intense.
it has excellent projection and longevity.

Rating 8.4/10
10th November, 2016

Interlude Man by Amouage

A balsamic smoky ambery sweet powdery fragrance with an amazing drydown.

At first sniff it was ok. it smelled unique and different.a little bit harsh from the oregano. then in the drydown the smell became so nice and appealing. sweet powdery smoky leathery ambery vanillic drydown. its perfect for the cold weather. less is more with interlude man as it is a beast.

7.8/10
10th November, 2016

Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford

sweet, sour and syrupy tobacco fragrance

an excellent fragrance that opens up with a slightly harsh and syrupy opening. the harshness is attributed to the tobacco. as it dries down the vanilla, cocao and dried fruits start dominating the fragrance while the tobacco is setting in the background and still providing that slightly harsh feel into the fragrance. the fragrance remains syrupy and sweet till it completely dries down. excellent performance. its most suitable in cold weather.

8.2/10
10th November, 2016

Dior Homme Intense by Christian Dior

a nice powdery scent

this one starts with the lipstick/make-up smell which is mostly attributed to the iris. the vanilla and woods later kick in providing a smooth and slightly delicious combination. the smell is very popular these days and gets me compliments. excellent performance.

8.4/10
10th November, 2016

Armani Privé Ambre Orient by Giorgio Armani

a very good oriental ambery fragrance
this one starts off quiet spicy with some incense. it later develops into a slightly powdery amber with labdanum. you will still get the spices and the incense in the background with just a bit of vanilla. longevity is very good (10 hours) with above average projection.
Just into the thumbs up territory

7.8/10
10th November, 2016

Colonia Leather by Acqua di Parma

A classy dark leather based fragrance.

It opens up with zesty citrus with the dark genuine smelling leather very noticeable from the start. it has the most genuine smelling leather out there. its not a fresh fragrance by any means. it is a dark classy fragrance that is suited for mature people. performance is very good (12+ hours).

Rating 8.0/10
10th November, 2016

Spiritueuse Double Vanille by Guerlain

A Dark, boozy & warm vanilla scent.

This is my favorite vanilla based fragrance.
This fragrance is not overly sweet as some other vanilla fragrances. It comes off slightly smoky, warm and boozy. there is a hint of pepper and smoke on top and some benzoin and woods in the base. the vanilla is present throughout the lifetime of the scent.
The longevity is excellent on this but the projection and silage are moderate.
Performance: 8/10

Overall score: 9.0/10
10th November, 2016

Égoïste / L'Égoïste by Chanel

A spicy dark woody creamy masculine scent.

This opens up very spicy with some rose which can be off putting for some. as it dries down the vanilla/ sandalwood and cinnamon combination kicks in. Smells like dark creamy woods and almost gets into the gourmand territory in the late drydown. Sandalwood with vanilla cream and cinnamon on top of that. its that stage that i love and wait for each time.
Performance is excellent: 9/10

overall score: 8.5/10
10th November, 2016

Opium pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

A spicy, oriental, clean and sweet masculine scent.

This is one of the under the radar fragrances that are not much hyped by the fragrance community. I am glad i got to know it earlier this year. what a lovely fragrance this is.

It opens up with a slightly classic / old school type smell that gives off a barbershop/shaving cream vibe with a fruity touch from the black currant. then it starts to get more sweet due to the vanilla.
Its a very masculine clean and mature scent.
Longevity and projection are very good 8/10

overall score 8.8 / 10
10th November, 2016

El Born by Carner Barcelona

What a lovely fragrance this is. it reminds me of Autumn. When i smell it i get the image of sitting in a patio of a dessert shop having vanilla ice cream with raisins on an early autumn humid day surrounded by some plants. then it starts raining after a long dry period which leads to that unique smell of the water mixing in with the dust on the plants and the ground.
this is not a vanilla dominated scent by any means.
The performance is moderate
Overall Rating : 8.8 / 10
10th November, 2016

Exquisite Musk by Yves Saint Laurent

A balsamic oriental musky patchouli scent.

First impressions:

I gave it a quick sampling the other day and i was impressed by it. the opening was a bit spicy then it gradually got ambery/sweet and musky in the drydown. it has a slight animalic touch. The patchouli is there throughout.
the performance was moderate.

overall score: 7.8/10
10th November, 2016

Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

A classy bright leather based fragrance.
Tuscan leather is one of those fragrances that smells better when it is sniffed from a distance rather than up close. i get the raspberry and saffron in the opening followed by a bright and sharp leathery note. it does not smell dark to me. longevity is excellent.

Rating: 8.7/10
10th November, 2016

Royal Oud by Creed

A spicy, slightly sweet cedar based fragrance.

This is a very good offering from CREED. It's certainly not oud based but rather cedarwood based. I also get lots of pepper that add a spicy slightly sweet note to the cedar wood. some musk appears in the base. f performance is good.

Rating 8.0/10
10th November, 2016

Armani Privé Oud Royal by Giorgio Armani

a balsamic, woody, smoky, dry fragrance

this is one of the best western oud fragrances. however, it smells very middle-eastern. the oud is not medicinal. one might describe it as rubbery. it has just the right amount of amber and saffron to give it a bit of sweetness and spiciness. the incense is predominant but not overbearing. the sandalwood is dry and smoky but not creamy. the fragrance feels almost powdery in the drydown. projection and longevity are average.

8.4/10
10th November, 2016