Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Truffles_L

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 19

Aqua Celestia by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

Aqua Celestia is an excellent fresh unisex daytime fragrance that sits fairly close to my skin. It sparkles with musk and citrus and it stays pretty linear on me in the dry down. Aqua Celestia has longevity is great too. It smells fresh after 10 hours on my super dry skin. It is a fantastic warm sunny day scent. It makes me feel clean and bright.
07th February, 2019

Carat by Cartier

Cartier Carat opens on me with lots of aldehydes and a blast of spring flowers. This part does evoke the diamonds in their marketing imagery. The mid notes are fruity floral. It envelopes me in the sparkly scent with a medium sillage.

It is a very pretty and feminine skin scent at seven hours.

The packaging is an understated beauty. Overall I enjoy this fragrance, but it will not be a hero in my collection. For me, it feels a bit more elegant than a work scent. It could be a great bottle for someone who wants to feel confident and bright.
03rd February, 2019

Dent de Lait by Serge Lutens

Scent is metallic on me. I am not sure why. The aldehydes are nice, but once this dries down it is not nice on my skin. It smells like I am wearing perfume fragrance versus blending into my natural scent and creating a pleasant experience. It is not bad, but it is definitely not one of the best SL. I wore this four times.
13th January, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Portraits : The Revenge of Lady Blanche by Penhaligon's

Lovely, grown-up chypre, with green floral and orris notes. It opens brightly and stays fairly linear with a medium sillage. It lasts about 7 hours on my skin before become too much of a skin scent.

I wear this one to work. It is perfect in the summer or the autumn for me.
26th October, 2017

Orange Blossom by Penhaligon's

Orange Blossom is a comforting scent for me that creates an aura of calm. It has a creamy neroli and soft white floral opening. The drydown turns a bit more like sandalwood. I love Orange Blossom for before bed or when I want a tranquil feeling around me.
23rd April, 2017

Aimez-Moi by Caron

Opening is a soft violet. It makes me think of a soft purple color in my mind. After an hour or so, the sandalwood and vanilla base become more prominent. This makes the fragrance stay on the sweet side, but it is not immensely sweet. It is a good daytime scent. It lasts on my skin around 7 hours, but it sits fairly close to the skin on me after two hours.

I like Aimez-Moi a lot. I do not love it. I will gladly use my bottle, but I will not replace it.
17th April, 2017

Parfum Sacré by Caron

Opening smells like soft leather with cinnamon, but I believe I am really sniffing some musk and spices.

After the initial opening it turns to powder, leather and violets on me. The rose or pepper notes are hidden, but I suspect they are just well blended into the fragrance.

Four hours into this scent and I smell like dusty violets. It is nice, pleasant and safe, but I do not think I will replace my 2 ml sample. This is my second wearing.

The sillage is soft to moderate. The longevity is just okay at six hours or so then it is a skin scent. It did last longer, but close to skin and there 10 hours and still going strong.
08th April, 2017 (last edited: 09th April, 2017)

Opus VIII by Amouage

Opus VIII has a lovely white floral opening. The top notes lead with jasmine but the ylang ylang is in there. The floral notes do not totally blend together. Instead, they are detectable in a way that has them dancing around playing nicely together versus becoming one. Sometimes this one opens with the woody notes in the opening. No idea why it changes each time I wear it, but that is just fine by me

The middle notes are softer and add vetiver and smell a bit minty in a good way. This is the part of the perfume that I enjoy the most.

The sillage is medium to heavy, and the longevity is more than 10 hours.
04th April, 2017

Ikat Jasmine by Aerin

Opening was a strong blast of jasmine and tuberose. It is a very bright opening. The middle and dry down are very floral but exceptionally pretty. I am not a strong floral lover unless there is a creaminess to it. So, this one is not for me. However, it was a very well done jasmine fragrance. It would be great for someone who is seeking this sort of thing.
04th April, 2017

Honour Woman by Amouage

Honour Woman has a sweet and fruity white floral open with lots of jasmine and tuberose. The notes were blended nicely, but not over-blended with a high projection. The middle softens, and stays fairly linear. It projects a bit more than a skin scent at six hours. It is an amazing, well-made white floral perfume.
31st March, 2017 (last edited: 02nd April, 2017)

Memoir Man by Amouage

This has a beautiful manly mint tobacco opening. My friend vetiver appears before the two hour mark. It is a skin scent at 12 hours. I will use this as a winter scent. I loved this one. Female reviewer
31st March, 2017

Lyric Woman by Amouage

"Spicy heaven perfume" opens boldly with a very well done strong rose, cardamom and maybe cinnamon blending together. Then it turns darker. The middle was still rose with patchouli and other scents blending together. The mid notes were my favorite part. This stage last through maybe 5 hours of wear. The basenotes are incense mixed with other things. The drydown is not faint, perhaps a mid-range sillage. I want to wear Lyric Woman again tomorrow. It does not smell like Penhaligon's Halafeti, but it reminds me of it in spirit. It is bold and interesting.
30th March, 2017

Fate Man by Amouage

Have had this one for six hours. The open is not nice for me. I smelled pungent cumin and citrus for about 40 minutes. However, the middle is sexy, rich and enticing with a sweet resinous scent. It has fairly strong sillage. I will not buy this again. It is a bit too manly for me, but I want to sniff this on a man, after that opening blast fades. I rank it a 7 out of 10.
30th March, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Myths Woman by Amouage

The opening of this is interesting, a very nice green scent with violets and the smell of cut flower stems. However, it wore off into a musty scent of decomposition. This was good for a bit but ultimately, I did not enjoy this perfume.

29th March, 2017

Savoy Steam Eau de Parfum by Penhaligon's

It is clean, spicy and refreshing. It is not a strong fragrance, and it sits close to the skin. Would be great for a daytime, or when one wants to feel "fresh". I like it in the mornings. It is quite unisex.

Also, it seems to do something amazing when you layer another fragrance over it. I am not sure why exactly, but it adds an amazing spark. I have tried pairing it with Chanel Sycomore and Ormande Jayne Woman.
23rd March, 2017 (last edited: 27th March, 2017)

Sycomore Eau de Toilette by Chanel

I love the edp version of Sycomore. The vetiver is beautiful and floats around with maybe cypress on my skin for about six hours. The opening through the second hour is my favourite part. It seems like the sillage is fairly close to my skin, but someone commented on my scent today, so I will say it has a moderate sillage. I cannot compare it to the old edt Sycomore. It does not matter if it is different the the old version, because I do not have access to the edt.
21st March, 2017 (last edited: 04th April, 2017)

Le Jardin de Monsieur Li by Hermès

An aquatic citrus green scent that opens richly and in a lovely way. The initial phase did not change or die down for a couple hours on my skin. The scent slowly faded until it was gone five hours later. The fragrance is nice but I expect more longevity for the Hermes price. I think Monsieur Li is an average, interesting fragrance. I will not repurchase this one.
18th March, 2017 (last edited: 20th March, 2017)

1932 Eau de Toilette by Chanel

EdP version - aldehydes galore with a citrus backing. The aldehydes are going strong five hours later on me with a strong neroli scent. I like this one a lot. I am not completely in love for the Les Exclusifs price.

For me this fragrance, while very nice, is not unique enough to merit a full bottle purchase. I will happily use up my 4 mls of samples though.
14th March, 2017 (last edited: 28th March, 2017)

Prada Olfactories : Day For Night by Prada

Very nice opening with amber and maybe leather. It lasted at least 10 hours when it was still detectable close to the skin. It was a nice amber fragrance for me, but nothing too exciting, especially at higher price point.
24th February, 2017