Perfume Reviews

Reviews by framethephrases

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 34

Shards of Cedar & Red Thyme by Jo Loves...

I was expecting not to like this when I first sprayed it. It came out of my sample bottle smelling harsh, cedar with a bite. But it quickly mellowed into something gentler. It still leans too masculine to be a fragrance I'll personally reach for or buy a full bottle of, but I enjoyed smelling this.
11th August, 2020

Pink Vetiver by Jo Loves...

I think this could be a very nice fragrance on someone else. For my personal gender expression, it tips too traditionally masculine. I smell like a hot guy! There are worse things, of course.
10th August, 2020

Green Orange and Coriander by Jo Loves...

I've tried this perfume now on about four separate occasions with the intention of writing a short review. It's not making a big impression on me. I wish I could smell more green orange. I get more of spice, I guess coriander but to me, it's not so specific. (I smelled a bag of coriander to test, and it's not quite the same.)
08th August, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

No. 42 The Flower Shop by Jo Loves...

I'm giving this fragrance three stars. It's a pretty, light floral that's not terribly distinctive. I mostly get freesia. Traditionally feminine and not super long lasting. Jo Malone does fresh florals really well––see Red Roses––so I was hoping this would be a four- or five-star fragrance for me. It's still nice, though.
04th August, 2020

Smoked Plum & Leather by Jo Loves...

This is a beautiful and unique fragrance, and it's also a departure from the kinds of perfumes that Jo Malone usually makes. I smell the smoked plum quite strongly at the beginning. I don't necessarily want to smell like a smoked plum, but I do enjoy smelling it...it's an unusual scent. After a couple hours, it mellows and shifts into a gorgeous cedarwood. That ending is my favorite part.
01st August, 2020

Rose Petal 25 by Jo Loves...

This is a lovely and soft fragrance, but I like Red Roses, also by Jo Malone, better. The first time I tested Rose Petal 25, I enjoyed it but the smell made me miss Red Roses. So the second time, I tested one on each wrist to compare.

Rose Petal 25 has less of that fresh, just-walked-into-a-flower-shop smell that I adore in Red Roses. It's a more subdued, like a bouquet on your kitchen table that you occasionally stop and sniff. The drydown is more complex––but sometimes I don't want complex. Sometimes I want to feel like I live in a flower shop for a few hours. And then I'll put on Red Roses.
29th July, 2020

White Rose & Lemon Leaves by Jo Loves...

Jo Malone has a great nose for fresh-smelling flowers, the kind that make me remember when I worked in a flower shop. (My favorite of all her flower scents so far is Red Roses by Jo Malone London.)

This fragrance is no exception. The lemon leaves in the beginning give a surprising (well, unless you know the name) tartness. It's strange and beautiful, and then mellows into a more traditional rose scent (but always fresh, never dusty like other rose scents).

I'm sampling a lot of Jo Loves scents from the fragrance discovery set. This is the fourth one I've tried and so far, I've liked all of them.
26th July, 2020

Jo by Jo Loves by Jo Loves...

I like this one. It's mostly grapefruit, but more subdued than juicy. I get a bit of lime as well, and some wood, too (I don't smell the mint note mentioned). This fragrance lasts longer than other Jo Malone perfumes (I could still get a good sniff after four hours).
25th July, 2020

Orange Butterflies by Jo Loves...

Pretty but not the most remarkable or distinctive scent. Light and floral--I get mostly orange blossom. Similar to Jo Malone London's Orange Blossom, which I think I like more, though both are nice.
25th July, 2020

Mango Thai Lime / A Shot of Thai Lime over Mango by Jo Loves...

I love this fragrance. To me, the opening is almost pure lime. It smells like you could squeeze it. Tart and fresh.
24th July, 2020

Pomelo by Jo Loves...

This is a beautiful scent, especially the first spray. If you like Jo Malone London Grapefruit, you're likely to like this, too. I love citrus scents and am wary of patchouli, but both of these fragrances blend them in a very appealing way.

Like many other Jo Malone perfumes--both from Jo Malone London and Jo Loves--Pomelo does not last long on the skin. That's not something I mind, since I like the option to change fragrances in the middle of the day. But if you are a stickler for longevity, you'll want to take that into account.
23rd July, 2020

Vanille Insensée by Atelier Cologne

This is lovely. My association with vanilla is that it's usually sweet and gourmand, but this is darker, more like smelling an actual vanilla bean, maybe with some dark rum. Subtle, not intense. If it didn't sound so cheesy, maybe it would be called "Vanille Noir."
22nd July, 2020

Iris Rebelle by Atelier Cologne

I love Atelier's citrus scents and was excited to try this one. But to me, it's just okay. I was hoping to smell the bergamot in this. Instead, it smells like a pleasant but bland floral on me.
21st July, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

POP by Stella McCartney

Lovely and fun. I was surprised to see the notes listed here as tuberose and sandalwood. I also smell fruit––it's a bit sweet, but not overly so. Well-balanced and refreshing.
20th July, 2020

Bottega Veneta by Bottega Veneta

This is really quite pretty. At first spray, I thought it seemed like a generic sweet floral, but I'm glad that I let it develop and tried it a second time as well before writing this review. The second time, I smelled the pink peppercorn note, which I loved. It's a lovely perfume to be aware of over a day, and to keep smelling to see how it's changed.
18th July, 2020

Libertine by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab

This does not smell good on me, at all! The website lists the notes as "Rosewood and chamomile with bergamot, violet, red sandalwood, primrose and Arabian musk." To me, the scent is very heavy, reminiscent of 80s perfumes that have gone out of style. It was so strong that I had to wash some of it off immediately. I also didn't like the powdery floral note (must be the violet). I've read a lot of excellent reviews for this elsewhere, so it must have just not worked for my skin chemistry. I'm wearing it now and looking forward to it wearing off!
16th July, 2020

Nectarine Blossom & Honey by Jo Malone

This is a lovely fragrance. Like many other Jo Malone perfumes, it's not complicated and it doesn't last terribly long. It's sweet, pretty, and enjoyable. The name is an accurate description.
16th July, 2020

Wild Bluebell by Jo Malone

I enjoy Jo Malone perfumes and other Christine Nagel perfumes, so I was surprised by how neutral I feel about this one. It's pleasant and light, not terribly distinctive.
14th July, 2020

Orange Sanguine by Atelier Cologne

I love this fragrance. The citrus opening is so fresh––it really does smell like fresh-squeezed orange juice. I find myself spraying multiple times per day to experience the top notes again. An instant mood-brightener, especially in spring and summer.
13th July, 2020

Sensuous by Estée Lauder

The opening of this fragrance on me is powdery like a scented deodorant (because of this type of smell, I prefer unscented deodorant). But after a few hours, it shifts into something quite sweet and elegant, a hint of honey close to the skin.
12th July, 2020

Un Jardin Sur Le Toit by Hermès

This is a gorgeous fragrance. It smells fresh and green––I love that grass note. Perfect for spring and summer.
11th July, 2020

Un Jardin sur le Nil by Hermès

This is so lovely! Honestly, I don't have the nose yet to pick out the notes listed here. I've worn this many times and never picked up the top note as grapefruit, though I love grapefruit in fragrances. Hermes Un Jardin sur le Nil smells so distinctively like itself. Delicate, fresh, and unique.
10th July, 2020

FlowerbyKenzo by Kenzo

The opening has a strong lipstick note. After that, powdery violets. Pretty enough, but not for me.
09th July, 2020

Mandarine Glaciale by Atelier Cologne

I like this one, though not as much as some of Atelier's other citrus scents. There's a surprising earthiness to it––it's more savory than sweet. Refreshing.
09th July, 2020

DKNY Be Delicious by Donna Karan

This perfume has a glorious sweet candy apple opening. It's like eating a green Jolly Rancher. Then within minutes, it's gone, leaving almost nothing. Still, I can't hate it.

08th July, 2020 (last edited: 09th July, 2020)

Do Son Eau de Toilette by Diptyque

This is lovely! It's a gentle, fresh white floral. Subtle and wearable, but complex enough with the marine accord to keep it interesting.
08th July, 2020

Miu Miu by Miu Miu

This is a perfectly fine fragrance. Pleasant but boring.
07th July, 2020

Clémentine California by Atelier Cologne

I like this one, though not as much as some of Atelier's other citrus scents. There's a surprising earthiness to it––it's more savory than sweet. Refreshing.
06th July, 2020

Rain by Clean

This fragrance is fine but nothing that I'd seek out to try to smell like. It smells like soap or deodorant.
05th July, 2020

Eau de Rhubarbe Écarlate by Hermès

I like the rhubarb...it smells fresh like I'm walking through a farmers' market. But it goes away so fast and other than that note, this scent is unremarkable on me.
05th July, 2020