Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Zgb

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 513

Azzaro pour Homme Amber Fever by Azzaro

Amber and cocoa with questionable sage note which I don't feel. Not a bad scent, but considerng the type of scent, it could be a bit stronger and more concrete. Thick and warm, dry and waxy or resin like. Doesn't feel like something new, but rather smells like something modern 10 years ago, whatever that means.

Very calm and decent but not quite playful. Cozy and inviting in a warm way. Reminds me of Azzaro PH Intense 2015., but stripped from spices and boozy notes, thus the playfulness.

Too calm for this type of scent. Now, if it were aromatic, as if it'd have healing properties. Being the way it actually is, it loses itself in meaning and direction. It has a predispostion for everything, but does nothing, as if it's inert.


Originality 5/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
_________________________
62,5%
subjective impression 6/10
30th January, 2021

Boss The Scent Private Accord by Hugo Boss

Another big youtube hype. I almost get it why, but it's not that special at all. The first thing I noticed is that it reminds me of spicy frag concepts from 2000.-2010. era, however I couldn'd decipher of what frag specifically.

After some 3 and a half hours, it finally came to me. Carolina Herrera Chic For Men. It puzzles me how nobody noticed this! Fruity notes mixed with woods, mainstream, typical synthetic Boss juice. Nice actually, but excellent? Not at all, not one least bit! Gourmand? Not to me.

Relatively well put together, appealing factor is sort of in the upper range. People who liked Chic For Men by CH before ruined by reformulation and is also discontinued, will most certainly appreciate this Boss iteration.

Originality 3/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
______________________
62,5%
subjective impression 6,5/10
30th January, 2021

Déclaration Parfum by Cartier

This fragrance instigates very negative emotions in me. What's any good emotions left, while smelling this on me, was spent writing a review in Croatian on another platform.
That being said, this will be a short review.

Objectively: it's a stronger, more bitter version of the original appropriate for the cooler days and nights.

Subjectively: this is atrocious and reminds me of an old, grumpy woman who believes in everything that they say in the evening news. Votes for the same political party since the time she is allowed to vote.

I've got nothing else to say. If I'd continue, this review wouldn't have been approved.
18th December, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Boss Bottled Intense Eau de Parfum by Hugo Boss

Comparing the Boss Bottled Intense EdP with the much more versatile original, this flanker is very synthetic and plastic just as the original, yet still a bit deeper and "refined". For the Boss Bottled general fans, this plasticky synthetic feel is nothing new and really not an obstacle. Compared with the Intense EdT from 2015. the EdP version is much more woody and very dry.

Although the plasticky synthetic feel is strong when smelled directly from the skin, the sillage is much better, almost a poor mans niche maybe when smelled from afar. The original is a whole year fragrance, and only in the heavy summer days will it not be appropriate. Boss Bottled Intense EdP however will be more suited for autumn and winter, somewhat leaning on the evening side of wearings.

From this year on, Boss Bottled Intense EdT and EdP are both discontinued in favour of the new flanker Boss Bottled EdP (2020.) which is more of a generalist idea of Bottled mixed with more mainstream, popular styles such as Sauvage, K, Y, Invictus, Eros etc.

Conclusion: who loves the original and really wants a stronger version of it to the note, this is a must have, especially because it's discontinued. As I'm writing this review, Boss Bottled Intense EdP is still widely available and a good bang for a buck. You can get 100 ml for 40€ or so, for now.

Subjective score:
Originality 3/10 nothing new
Scent 8/10 plasticky synthetic when smelled directly from the skin; but the sillage is almost niche like
Longevity 9/10
Projection 7/10
_____________________________________________
math. score 67,5%, subjective impression 8/10

Objective score:
Originality 6/10 discontinued and will probably disappear for 2-3 years, prices will spike significantly
Scent 6/10 obviously synthetic and the more demanding audience will not be impressed.
Longevity 9/10
Projection 7/10
______________________
70%
15th December, 2020

Y Live Eau de Toilette Intense by Yves Saint Laurent

Nothing special. One more Invictus clone, no house can get rid of that trend. That being said, Y Live is less screachy than Invictus, Valentino Uomo Born in Roma and Davidoff Run Wild which is the most obnoxious of them all. Y Live has that typical bubble gum note that offers nothing "revolutional", but toned down to a degree that one can tolerate it.

Conclusion: more wearable clone of Invictus and clones from other houses.

Originality 1/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
11th November, 2020

Valentino Uomo Born in Roma by Valentino

What's to say about this one? Invictus clone to the last molecule and a "money grabber" for the naive.

This is very disappointing as the rest of the line is very good.

All that being said, me detesting Invictus right from the start didn't help writing kind words about Valentino Uomo Born in Roma.

(worn/tested 03.10.2020.; it was not in the directory at that time)
04th November, 2020

Baldessarini Black by Baldessarini

Very good combo of some older designer concepts from the first decade of 21. century. It reminds me of Profumum Roma Patchouly.

Equally sweet, decent but stripped from density and warmth that Profumum Roma Patchouly has, but that makes Baldessarini more wearable and versatile.

Evening casual scent, for spring or autumn, not for the summer. As for winter, it lacks the strength in my opinion.
As a designer, this will not be a scent that'll be liked by the wider audience. There's nothing trendy about it.

Strong patchouly cooled down by basil note and tonka is a mild sweetener here. There is some leather noticable here, however not vehemently.

To me Baldessarini as a house never promises much, but almost always delivers more than I expect.

Originality 6/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
_________________________
math grade: 67,5%
subjective grade: 7,5/10
29th October, 2020

La Nuit de L'Homme Eau de Parfum by Yves Saint Laurent

I've written a review about it 25.11.2019. on another site. It was not in the Basenotes directory until today.

La Nuit de L'Homme EdP reminds me of the original La Nuit with a pinch of Fahrenheit and/or Fahrenheit Parfum idea in it. When youtube reviewers started to "bash" it, I knew I was going to like it.

So what is it with La Nuit EdP exactly? It's a more mature take on the EdT which was more for the younger, going out crowd. The EdP flanker is more of a "responsible and composed" type of a guy.

When I kind of think of it, this isn't something original or new. It is a hybrid that uses concepts of previous flankers, namely L'Homme Parfum Intense and the original La Nuit de L'Homme EdT, adding a pinch of Fahrenheit Parfum idea in it.

Although the name itself implies it is a night frag, it is perfect for the gray autumn and winter day, maybe even for the office. Of course it will not disappoint in the evening because of that semi boozy warmth it emits, however being toned down and more rounded, it won't be regarded as a clubbing beast.

Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
_____________________
math grade 70%
subjective grade 7,5/10

(edit due to lapsus calami)
21st October, 2020 (last edited: 04th December, 2020)

Toy Boy by Moschino

I wrote a review about this one on another site 12.03.2020. Toy Boy is now finally in the directory here.

This one is a rather good clone of Le Labo Rose 31. More than a good attempt. The gay slave marketing is quite off in my opinion.

It's not that much of an extravagant scent. Could be unisex in my opinion. Almost unique in the designer scent world, especially when it comes to recent designer editions such as Versace Eros, Dior Sauvage, D&G K, YSL Y, Burberry Mr. Burberry etc.

Unlike Rose 31, Moschino Toy Boy does have this bit of a soapy feel to it as well. Nothing negative about it though, it's quite pleasant.

Moschino wanted to "shock" the audience with marketing and presentation, pairing that with a relatively good, unique scent. I don't know how much they managed to shock the audience, but when it comes to hit and miss considering the fragrance itself, it's a hit for me, albeit I'm not too crazy about it and don't see myself rushing to make it a part of my collection - yet.


Originality 7/10
Scent objectively 8/10, subjectively 6/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 7/10
___________________________
math grade: 77,50%
personal grade: 7/10
21st October, 2020

Axe Gold Temptation by Axe / Lynx

While I was at the seaside during the summer, I rushed to the drug store to buy a shower gel and I dumb grabbed Gold Temptation because I didn't want to waste my time shopping for too long.

I really like it. There are people who compare this to 1 Million. I kind of understand why, but it reminds me a bit more of Givenchy Very Irresistible For Men.

It has that gourmand, warm vibe. Axe is well known for copying designer frags, so it's no surprise that most of their products instigate "oh I've smelled this somewhere" moments and emotions. I really like it.
11th October, 2020

Ambré Eau Fraîche by Baldessarini

Fresh bomb of bergamot, sage, spices and woody notes. Note of a seemingly burnt wood that is also fresh, makes it very interesting. A worthy flanker of the original.

This flanker's flaw would be that it's a bit heavy on the character side, while still very fresh as a scent. It probably won't be liked by the younger crowd. The more experienced ones will probably like it under a condition to try it for multiple times before the final judgement.

Conclusion: a very good flanker that deserves attention.

Originality 6/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
_______________________
math grade: 67,5%
subjective grade 7/10
03rd October, 2020 (last edited: 16th October, 2020)

L'Homme Idéal Extrême by Guerlain

Indeed it reminds of the original a lot, not better or worse than it, however subjectively not better than the EDP flanker. It has a very classic vibe too, that reminds me of Joop Homme and CK Obsession For Men. Also has that bit of a pinch of a "urinal cake" feel to it.

On me, the dominant notes are cinnamon, plum and almond. Less dominant but noticable notes would be the tobacco and woody notes. I think it'll take a bit of a time and effort for most of the folks to get to like and accept this one. Yes, the first impression of it will not be too good for the most, but I believe that the impression of it will improve in time and this fragrance will be generally more accpeted and liked.

So I'll be the first one to rate it positively albeit I myself still have a bit of an inclination to give it a neutral rating. I won't. Thumbs up anyway.

Originality 6/10
Scent objectively 5/10; subjectively over time, probably 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
03rd October, 2020

Ventana by Armaf

This will be a short review. Pure clone of Dior Sauvage.
Ratio 95% Dior Sauvage 5% Prada Luna Rossa Carbon. That's it. Really nothing more to add here.

Originality 1/10
Scent 8/10 (objectively) but 6/10 (subjectively) as I was never a Sauvage fan and never jumped on that hype train.
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10

I'll rate it positively on account that Armaf made a perfect, good quality copy for significantly lower price.
05th September, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

This is Love! for Him by Zadig & Voltaire

Who loves woody aromatic frags, will love this. It reminds me a lot of GF Lui which is discontinued and to a degree Givenchy Very Irresistible for Men Fresh Attitude.

Zadig This Is Love for Him is not a typical fresh, citrus fragrance as the marketing implies. It's a rather woody fragrance that lacks the strength and character for the winter and late autumn, but gives its best in the spring!

This is an old concept that went away from the market quite fast years back, but a well done and a welcome come back made by Zadig&Voltaire. Yes, it is as synthetic and kind of "plasticky" as the former mentioned frags, but not in a cheap way. Sure some will mind that much more, while some won't care.

Originality 6/10 quite high because of the discontinued similar conepts

Scent 8/10 I really like it, albeit it is quite synthetic/artificial

Longevity 8/10 strong wood notes stick to the skin real good.

Projection 6/10 more than adequate.

_____________________________________
Math grade 70%
subjectively 7,5/10
02nd September, 2020

Eternity for Men Eau de Parfum by Calvin Klein

Oh that '90s feel in it. So, what am I smelling exactly? Smells almost the same as Hugo Boss Hugo from 1995. If one is into that and already had Hugo, may want this because of the similar feel.

Originality 3/10
Scent 7/10 - not bad but quite dated
Longevity 8/10
Projection 5/10

I tried it 19.10.2019. and written a review on another site. CK Eternity EdP was not in the Basenotes directory until recently.
30th August, 2020

Bois de Cèdre by Lagerfeld

Rather simple, generic and "smelled this somewhere before". That being said, it is sharp but warm at the same time, reminding a bit of Cool Water, however not so fresh and pleasant.

Originality 4/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 7/10
04th August, 2020

Dunhill Icon by Dunhill

There's a style connection with Cartier Declaration and Terre d'Hermes, but unlike both - I kind of don't really like Dunhill Icon. It's trying to be fresh, fails at it. Trying to be warm, fails as well. It's very mature, not that the younger crowd will dig this one, which is positive in a way.

Dominant notes to me are black pepper - and intrusively so, vetiver, bergamot, oakmoss and sage. Overall impression it gives off to me is - clumsy. Like an overgrown organism whose limbs didn't follow the growth of the rest of the body. It can be too cloying if overapplied. That being said, I can't rate it negatively because Dunhill Icon in itself is a good idea, but simply doesn't sit all too well with me.

Originality 3/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
_____________________
math grade 55%
subjective grade 5/10
11th July, 2020

Bulgari Man Wood Neroli by Bulgari

Worn 07.09.2019. and wrtitten a review for it then on another site.

Smells clean and fresh, like a fresh white laundry that's breezed by the wind on a sunny day. So what you get is, neroli, obviously and that mineral touch to it that reminds me of Terre d'Hermes, however not in terms of fragrance itself, but the style.

Bvlgari Wood Neroli is a very simple and direct fragrance, clean and fresh both in scent and character. To some reviewers on youtube it was a hype, almost understandably in my opinion as this is really well done. It's modern, clean, potent without being overly strong and loud.

Scent 7/10
Originality 6/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
______________________
math grade: 67,5%
subjective grad: 7/10

28th June, 2020

Acqua di Giò Profondo by Giorgio Armani

In initial wave, Profondo flanker seems to be Armani's answer to Bleu de Chanel and Dior Sauvage but in an AdG way. As it gets closer to drydown, it's more and more similar to the Profumo flanker but in a less "dark" way and to the original, but stronger.

I'm very 50:50 about this one. Profumo flanker is a rather good one and the original AdG is overworn as it is, which makes Profondo flanker very redundant albeit exquisitely well done. AdG Profondo is a very good, universal frag for the summer, but it'll not smell unique or "new".

Conclusion: well done but also very well known DNA. Regardless, I'm rating it positively.

Originality: 3/10
Scent: 8/10
Longevity: 9/10
Projection: 7/10
___________________________
math grade: 67,5%
subjective impression 7/10
19th June, 2020

Club de Nuit Intense for Men by Armaf

Club De Nuit Intense is not exactly identical to Aventus, however overall impression is very like Creed Aventus. Really not bad. If you're into compliment wagon people and ready to wear this one only for compliments, CDNI is your frag. If you like the fragrance, then the bonus is even greater.

For a desginer based on a niche story that is very catchy and likeable, Club de Nuit Intense is indeed a job well done. One can't even say it's very synthetic. Of course, niche houses usually use better ingredients, but there's maybe a bit of myth here as well. I don't find Creed to be an extraordinary niche house.

So what do you get with CDNI? Good mix of citruses blended with blackcurrant, apple, musk and birch that gives off sort of a woody but smoky vibe. Overall it's like a refreshing tonic. Strong but not iritating.

Conclusion: it's worth the money and it'll do perfectly what it's supposed to do. Even if you don't really like CDNI, you'll be able to wear it. I'd give it a chance and take a full bottle eventually.


Originality 4/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
__________________________
math. score: 70%
subjective score: 6,5/10
07th June, 2020

Givenchy pour Homme by Givenchy

It's been almost 11 years since the first time I've tried this one, back in 2009. Always in and around my head, but never a part of my collection. It almost shocked me to see I didn't write a review for it all of these years.

I'm quite certain that, when Hugo Boss issued Boss In Motion Black flanker, the main idea for it was Givenchy Pour Homme. I always really appreciated Boss In Motion Black and found it to be rather unique. Givenchy Pour Homme is unique as well. It's fresh but also warm at the same time. Not many frags can achieve this feel. Whole year rounder, however not for the winter time.

Givenchy Pour Homme is also conservative and modern at the same time. Citrus notes make the fragrance airy or fluffy, fresh, casual and "kind", while the vetiver and cedar make it warm, firm and "serious".

Strange thing is, that after all this years it's still around, even if it never became a popular fragrance. Just like Gucci by Gucci Pour Homme to this date. I'm mentioning Gucci by Gucci because just like Givenchy PH it never became a top seller, while some of the more "newer" and "better accepted/popular" fragrances were discontinued, such as Very Irresistible for men and it's flankers and Play, or Play Intense as the most notable flanker of that line.

Overall description/conclusion: calm, kind, firm and conservative. A worthy member of the community. Deserves more mentioning and attention.

Originality: 7/10
Scent: 8/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 6/10
______________________
math grade 72,5%
subjective grade 8/10
15th May, 2020

Ferragamo Eau de Toilette by Salvatore Ferragamo

You just can't get it more simple and ordinary than this one. It's like one of St. Olivers that they give you gratis or 50% discount because you've spent couple of bucks more in their boutique.

So, you're kind of a guy who doesn't generally think much about frags, you need a dumb grab in your bathroom cabinet, this fragrance is your player. It'll smell, it won't offend, it'll last 6-8 hours and will not project excessively.

Citruses are the main players here, but what's interesting is that sage and oakmoss combo that do pleasantly come out.

It's quite an ok fougere and that's about it.

Originality: 3/10
Scent: 5/10
Longevity: 7/10
Projection: 5/10
_____________________________
math grade: 50%
subjective impression: 5/10
11th May, 2020 (last edited: 06th June, 2020)

Le Beau by Jean Paul Gaultier

The idea of the original is in the background, mixed with the strong bergamote and coconut. It's the bergamote that drags the entire composition into appearing as a hybrid of Invictus and slightly even A*Men Ultimate. Overspray this one, you'll sicken yourself and the environment.

The original is a staple, even if destroyed by reformulation. Its more fresh counterparts Popeye and Superman are very good summer flankers. Le Beau is neither here or there. Too heavy for the summer, too tropical for the winter, and with no character for the autumn or spring. I call this one the non-aligned. When I kind of think about it, it's for the "don't touch me, I don't judge or take sides" 15-25 years old crowd.


Originality: 5/10
Scent: 6/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 7/10
________________________
math grade: 65%
subjective grade: 6/10
11th May, 2020

Dior Homme Eau de Toilette (2020 version) by Christian Dior

Every review is subjective. It's not the frag that bothers me as much as what it represents.

As if you see a spoiled brat that keeps on bragging about a new car or clothes (never earned money), you roll your eyes but within you as you politly listen to him. Me, me, me and only me. I, I, I and only I. Mine and only mine. There's no substance at all.

That's Dior Homme 2020., not only when compared to the original, but even some of other new, modern fragrances that I just can't stand such as P.R. Invictus or Versace Eros.

One might try and compare it with Bleu de Chanel, but that's wrong. One might also try to compare it with Terre d'Hermes, but with less character and more smoky. Well that might not be entirely spot on, but a better try when it comes to comparison.

Had I liked it, I would've described it as velvety, modern, airy, careless and free.

Conclusion: represents the new era that offers no content or substance, only the form.

Thumbs down because it's Dior gone wrong, especially because it's Dior Homme. If this was from another house, perhaps I'd rate it neutral, maybe even borderline positive.

Originality 1/10
Scent 3/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 6/10
_________________________
mathematical: 40%
general impression: 3,5/10
09th May, 2020 (last edited: 16th August, 2020)

Y Live by Yves Saint Laurent

Oh gosh, another PR Invictus clone. Davidoff did it too just recently with its Run Wild frag. YSL Live is just a bit less potent and loud.

Redundant as a flanker because YSL Y EdP is kind of cute and better in a way. YSL Live is also redundant because after Paco Rabanne, several other houses followed that bubble gum scent blueprint such as Burberry, D&G, Davidoff etc.


Originality: 1/10
Scent: 5/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 7/10
_________________________
mathematical 52,5%
overall impression 5,5/10
09th May, 2020

Blu Mediterraneo : Fico di Amalfi by Acqua di Parma

When youtubers hype something up, I'm usually very skeptical, and I was right. This is foremost quite feminine and weak at that.

Scent itself is not green or blue, so one can't exactly categorise it like that. One gets citruses and a lot of musk with mashed figs. All in all nothing representative.

Could be ok casual summer scent, but it's kind of uninspiring and bland. It's so bland that even rating it negatively would suggest it actually triggered a strong emotion, albeit a negative one. It just can't do even that. You can't love it, you can't hate it. If it was a person, you'd kind of feel sorry for it.

Originality 5/10
Scent 4/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 3/10
_______________________
mathematical grade 45%
subjective grade 3/10
01st May, 2020

A*Men Ultimate by Thierry Mugler

The best description of this would be a clearer, filtered and less potent version, or a copy, of A*Men Ultra Zest. Why is it a failure? Because Ultra Zest was better. Why it isn't a failure? Because Ultra Zest is supposedly discontinued.

Ok, someone will say: "but Ultra Zest had orange note and Ultimate doesn't". Well yeah, but it's a thing of chemistry. As a chemist, you can make, or produce, an effect you want.

So this "Ultimate" flanker was made purposely to emulate the Ultra Zest flanker effect. I find this to be an insult in a way. Ultra Zest is discontinued and then they make a "new" flanker, change the colour of the bottle and name it Ultimate.

I dare you to side test them both, one on left wrist, the other on the right wrist and you'll see, that is smell, what I'm talking about.

Occasions: casual, informal, whole year, daily, can be an evening fragrance during summer.

Conclusion: marketing fraud/scam. But ok, let us have it.

Orignality 2/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 5/10
________________________
mathematical grade:55%
subjective grade: 6/10
05th January, 2020

To Be by Police

What a cute frag. Tries to be a "bad guy" + YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme at least when you smell it on others. Fails at it, but you accept it becasuse he asks you nicely. Different story when one wears it himself.

In terms of how it smells, it also shares the style of Joop Jump, Cerruti Pour Homme, Chopard Pour Homme and also a bit Guess Blue Seductive.


Conclusion: not tragic!

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
____________________
52,5%
05th January, 2020

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Wood & Wood by Issey Miyake

Unisex and universal fragrance that initially reminds me a bit of Bvlgari Aqva Amara, but in the drydown it gets a more woody, mainstream character in the spirit of this vaning decade.

Could've been better. With so many flankers and many other similar designer frags, it's very redundant. I do sympathise to a degree, though.


Decent, casual and universal.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 5/10
________________________
matemathical grade: 50%
subjective grade: 6,5/10
28th December, 2019

K by Dolce & Gabbana by Dolce & Gabbana

Typical modern "mall scent". You've smelled this already. Namely, Mr. Burberry EDP and YSL Y EDP. If you're guy that likes to spend the weekend free time moving around shopping malls, this is the scent for you!

I am on the verge to rate it negative, but I've rated Mr. Burberry EDP positively and this D&G K being a copy of it is not all that bad, so will be rated neutral. It's not really a polarising scent. People en masse will like it and wear it and very few will dislike it.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
________________
55%
25th November, 2019