Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Zgb

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 501

L'Homme Idéal Extrême by Guerlain

Indeed it reminds of the original a lot, not better or worse than it, however subjectively not better than the EDP flanker. It has a very classic vibe too, that reminds me of Joop Homme and CK Obsession For Men. Also has that bit of a pinch of a "urinal cake" feel to it.

On me, the dominant notes are cinnamon, plum and almond. Less dominant but noticable notes would be the tobacco and woody notes. I think it'll take a bit of a time and effort for most of the folks to get to like and accept this one. Yes, the first impression of it will not be too good for the most, but I believe that the impression of it will improve in time and this fragrance will be generally more accpeted and liked.

So I'll be the first one to rate it positively albeit I myself still have a bit of an inclination to give it a neutral rating. I won't. Thumbs up anyway.

Originality 6/10
Scent objectively 5/10; subjectively over time, probably 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 7/10
03rd October, 2020

Ventana by Armaf

This will be a short review. Pure clone of Dior Sauvage.
Ratio 95% Dior Sauvage 5% Prada Luna Rossa Carbon. That's it. Really nothing more to add here.

Originality 1/10
Scent 8/10 (objectively) but 6/10 (subjectively) as I was never a Sauvage fan and never jumped on that hype train.
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10

I'll rate it positively on account that Armaf made a perfect, good quality copy for significantly lower price.
05th September, 2020

This is Love! for Him by Zadig & Voltaire

Who loves woody aromatic frags, will love this. It reminds me a lot of GF Lui which is discontinued and to a degree Givenchy Very Irresistible for Men Fresh Attitude.

Zadig This Is Love for Him is not a typical fresh, citrus fragrance as the marketing implies. It's a rather woody fragrance that lacks the strength and character for the winter and late autumn, but gives its best in the spring!

This is an old concept that went away from the market quite fast years back, but a well done and a welcome come back made by Zadig&Voltaire. Yes, it is as synthetic and kind of "plasticky" as the former mentioned frags, but not in a cheap way. Sure some will mind that much more, while some won't care.

Originality 6/10 quite high because of the discontinued similar conepts

Scent 8/10 I really like it, albeit it is quite synthetic/artificial

Longevity 8/10 strong wood notes stick to the skin real good.

Projection 6/10 more than adequate.

_____________________________________
Math grade 70%
subjectively 7,5/10
02nd September, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Eternity for Men Eau de Parfum by Calvin Klein

Oh that '90s feel in it. So, what am I smelling exactly? Smells almost the same as Hugo Boss Hugo from 1995. If one is into that and already had Hugo, may want this because of the similar feel.

Originality 3/10
Scent 7/10 - not bad but quite dated
Longevity 8/10
Projection 5/10

I tried it 19.10.2019. and written a review on another site. CK Eternity EdP was not in the Basenotes directory until recently.
30th August, 2020

Bois de Cèdre by Lagerfeld

Rather simple, generic and "smelled this somewhere before". That being said, it is sharp but warm at the same time, reminding a bit of Cool Water, however not so fresh and pleasant.

Originality 4/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 7/10
04th August, 2020

Dunhill Icon by Dunhill

There's a style connection with Cartier Declaration and Terre d'Hermes, but unlike both - I kind of don't really like Dunhill Icon. It's trying to be fresh, fails at it. Trying to be warm, fails as well. It's very mature, not that the younger crowd will dig this one, which is positive in a way.

Dominant notes to me are black pepper - and intrusively so, vetiver, bergamot, oakmoss and sage. Overall impression it gives off to me is - clumsy. Like an overgrown organism whose limbs didn't follow the growth of the rest of the body. It can be too cloying if overapplied. That being said, I can't rate it negatively because Dunhill Icon in itself is a good idea, but simply doesn't sit all too well with me.

Originality 3/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
_____________________
math grade 55%
subjective grade 5/10
11th July, 2020

Bulgari Man Wood Neroli by Bulgari

Worn 07.09.2019. and wrtitten a review for it then on another site.

Smells clean and fresh, like a fresh white laundry that's breezed by the wind on a sunny day. So what you get is, neroli, obviously and that mineral touch to it that reminds me of Terre d'Hermes, however not in terms of fragrance itself, but the style.

Bvlgari Wood Neroli is a very simple and direct fragrance, clean and fresh both in scent and character. To some reviewers on youtube it was a hype, almost understandably in my opinion as this is really well done. It's modern, clean, potent without being overly strong and loud.

Scent 7/10
Originality 6/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
______________________
math grade: 67,5%
subjective grad: 7/10

28th June, 2020

Acqua di Giò Profondo by Giorgio Armani

In initial wave, Profondo flanker seems to be Armani's answer to Bleu de Chanel and Dior Sauvage but in an AdG way. As it gets closer to drydown, it's more and more similar to the Profumo flanker but in a less "dark" way and to the original, but stronger.

I'm very 50:50 about this one. Profumo flanker is a rather good one and the original AdG is overworn as it is, which makes Profondo flanker very redundant albeit exquisitely well done. AdG Profondo is a very good, universal frag for the summer, but it'll not smell unique or "new".

Conclusion: well done but also very well known DNA. Regardless, I'm rating it positively.

Originality: 3/10
Scent: 8/10
Longevity: 9/10
Projection: 7/10
___________________________
math grade: 67,5%
subjective impression 7/10
19th June, 2020

Club de Nuit Intense for Men by Armaf

Club De Nuit Intense is not exactly identical to Aventus, however overall impression is very like Creed Aventus. Really not bad. If you're into compliment wagon people and ready to wear this one only for compliments, CDNI is your frag. If you like the fragrance, then the bonus is even greater.

For a desginer based on a niche story that is very catchy and likeable, Club de Nuit Intense is indeed a job well done. One can't even say it's very synthetic. Of course, niche houses usually use better ingredients, but there's maybe a bit of myth here as well. I don't find Creed to be an extraordinary niche house.

So what do you get with CDNI? Good mix of citruses blended with blackcurrant, apple, musk and birch that gives off sort of a woody but smoky vibe. Overall it's like a refreshing tonic. Strong but not iritating.

Conclusion: it's worth the money and it'll do perfectly what it's supposed to do. Even if you don't really like CDNI, you'll be able to wear it. I'd give it a chance and take a full bottle eventually.


Originality 4/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
__________________________
math. score: 70%
subjective score: 6,5/10
07th June, 2020

Givenchy pour Homme by Givenchy

It's been almost 11 years since the first time I've tried this one, back in 2009. Always in and around my head, but never a part of my collection. It almost shocked me to see I didn't write a review for it all of these years.

I'm quite certain that, when Hugo Boss issued Boss In Motion Black flanker, the main idea for it was Givenchy Pour Homme. I always really appreciated Boss In Motion Black and found it to be rather unique. Givenchy Pour Homme is unique as well. It's fresh but also warm at the same time. Not many frags can achieve this feel. Whole year rounder, however not for the winter time.

Givenchy Pour Homme is also conservative and modern at the same time. Citrus notes make the fragrance airy or fluffy, fresh, casual and "kind", while the vetiver and cedar make it warm, firm and "serious".

Strange thing is, that after all this years it's still around, even if it never became a popular fragrance. Just like Gucci by Gucci Pour Homme to this date. I'm mentioning Gucci by Gucci because just like Givenchy PH it never became a top seller, while some of the more "newer" and "better accepted/popular" fragrances were discontinued, such as Very Irresistible for men and it's flankers and Play, or Play Intense as the most notable flanker of that line.

Overall description/conclusion: calm, kind, firm and conservative. A worthy member of the community. Deserves more mentioning and attention.

Originality: 7/10
Scent: 8/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 6/10
______________________
math grade 72,5%
subjective grade 8/10
15th May, 2020

Ferragamo Eau de Toilette by Salvatore Ferragamo

You just can't get it more simple and ordinary than this one. It's like one of St. Olivers that they give you gratis or 50% discount because you've spent couple of bucks more in their boutique.

So, you're kind of a guy who doesn't generally think much about frags, you need a dumb grab in your bathroom cabinet, this fragrance is your player. It'll smell, it won't offend, it'll last 6-8 hours and will not project excessively.

Citruses are the main players here, but what's interesting is that sage and oakmoss combo that do pleasantly come out.

It's quite an ok fougere and that's about it.

Originality: 3/10
Scent: 5/10
Longevity: 7/10
Projection: 5/10
_____________________________
math grade: 50%
subjective impression: 5/10
11th May, 2020 (last edited: 06th June, 2020)

Le Beau by Jean Paul Gaultier

The idea of the original is in the background, mixed with the strong bergamote and coconut. It's the bergamote that drags the entire composition into appearing as a hybrid of Invictus and slightly even A*Men Ultimate. Overspray this one, you'll sicken yourself and the environment.

The original is a staple, even if destroyed by reformulation. Its more fresh counterparts Popeye and Superman are very good summer flankers. Le Beau is neither here or there. Too heavy for the summer, too tropical for the winter, and with no character for the autumn or spring. I call this one the non-aligned. When I kind of think about it, it's for the "don't touch me, I don't judge or take sides" 15-25 years old crowd.


Originality: 5/10
Scent: 6/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 7/10
________________________
math grade: 65%
subjective grade: 6/10
11th May, 2020

Dior Homme Eau de Toilette (2020 version) by Christian Dior

Every review is subjective. It's not the frag that bothers me as much as what it represents.

As if you see a spoiled brat that keeps on bragging about a new car or clothes (never earned money), you roll your eyes but within you as you politly listen to him. Me, me, me and only me. I, I, I and only I. Mine and only mine. There's no substance at all.

That's Dior Homme 2020., not only when compared to the original, but even some of other new, modern fragrances that I just can't stand such as P.R. Invictus or Versace Eros.

One might try and compare it with Bleu de Chanel, but that's wrong. One might also try to compare it with Terre d'Hermes, but with less character and more smoky. Well that might not be entirely spot on, but a better try when it comes to comparison.

Had I liked it, I would've described it as velvety, modern, airy, careless and free.

Conclusion: represents the new era that offers no content or substance, only the form.

Thumbs down because it's Dior gone wrong, especially because it's Dior Homme. If this was from another house, perhaps I'd rate it neutral, maybe even borderline positive.

Originality 1/10
Scent 3/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 6/10
_________________________
mathematical: 40%
general impression: 3,5/10
09th May, 2020 (last edited: 16th August, 2020)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Y Live by Yves Saint Laurent

Oh gosh, another PR Invictus clone. Davidoff did it too just recently with its Run Wild frag. YSL Live is just a bit less potent and loud.

Redundant as a flanker because YSL Y EdP is kind of cute and better in a way. YSL Live is also redundant because after Paco Rabanne, several other houses followed that bubble gum scent blueprint such as Burberry, D&G, Davidoff etc.


Originality: 1/10
Scent: 5/10
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 7/10
_________________________
mathematical 52,5%
overall impression 5,5/10
09th May, 2020

Blu Mediterraneo : Fico di Amalfi by Acqua di Parma

When youtubers hype something up, I'm usually very skeptical, and I was right. This is foremost quite feminine and weak at that.

Scent itself is not green or blue, so one can't exactly categorise it like that. One gets citruses and a lot of musk with mashed figs. All in all nothing representative.

Could be ok casual summer scent, but it's kind of uninspiring and bland. It's so bland that even rating it negatively would suggest it actually triggered a strong emotion, albeit a negative one. It just can't do even that. You can't love it, you can't hate it. If it was a person, you'd kind of feel sorry for it.

Originality 5/10
Scent 4/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 3/10
_______________________
mathematical grade 45%
subjective grade 3/10
01st May, 2020

A*Men Ultimate by Thierry Mugler

The best description of this would be a clearer, filtered and less potent version, or a copy, of A*Men Ultra Zest. Why is it a failure? Because Ultra Zest was better. Why it isn't a failure? Because Ultra Zest is supposedly discontinued.

Ok, someone will say: "but Ultra Zest had orange note and Ultimate doesn't". Well yeah, but it's a thing of chemistry. As a chemist, you can make, or produce, an effect you want.

So this "Ultimate" flanker was made purposely to emulate the Ultra Zest flanker effect. I find this to be an insult in a way. Ultra Zest is discontinued and then they make a "new" flanker, change the colour of the bottle and name it Ultimate.

I dare you to side test them both, one on left wrist, the other on the right wrist and you'll see, that is smell, what I'm talking about.

Occasions: casual, informal, whole year, daily, can be an evening fragrance during summer.

Conclusion: marketing fraud/scam. But ok, let us have it.

Orignality 2/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 5/10
________________________
mathematical grade:55%
subjective grade: 6/10
05th January, 2020

To Be by Police

What a cute frag. Tries to be a "bad guy" + YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme at least when you smell it on others. Fails at it, but you accept it becasuse he asks you nicely. Different story when one wears it himself.

In terms of how it smells, it also shares the style of Joop Jump, Cerruti Pour Homme, Chopard Pour Homme and also a bit Guess Blue Seductive.


Conclusion: not tragic!

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
____________________
52,5%
05th January, 2020

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Wood & Wood by Issey Miyake

Unisex and universal fragrance that initially reminds me a bit of Bvlgari Aqva Amara, but in the drydown it gets a more woody, mainstream character in the spirit of this vaning decade.

Could've been better. With so many flankers and many other similar designer frags, it's very redundant. I do sympathise to a degree, though.


Decent, casual and universal.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 6/10
Projection 5/10
________________________
matemathical grade: 50%
subjective grade: 6,5/10
28th December, 2019

K by Dolce & Gabbana by Dolce & Gabbana

Typical modern "mall scent". You've smelled this already. Namely, Mr. Burberry EDP and YSL Y EDP. If you're guy that likes to spend the weekend free time moving around shopping malls, this is the scent for you!

I am on the verge to rate it negative, but I've rated Mr. Burberry EDP positively and this D&G K being a copy of it is not all that bad, so will be rated neutral. It's not really a polarising scent. People en masse will like it and wear it and very few will dislike it.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
________________
55%
25th November, 2019

Bad Boy by Carolina Herrera

This is bad. You've smelled it all before. Here's a bit of Armani Stronger With You for Men, then a bit of PR Invictus, tad bit of CH Chic for Men and a little bit of PR 1 Million too. Pair all that with this bottle and...well it's simply horrid. For instance, I really don't like Versace Eros but I'd rather wear that one than CH Bad Boy. Sapienti sat.

Originality 1/10
Scent 3/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
19th October, 2019

La Vie est Belle Éclat by Lancôme

Sudden testing as my niece has a sample of this. I rarely review women frags, but from time to time why not? This is not bad.

In initial wave it seems as a version of Armani Stronger With You, but that disappears very fast and becomes a typical, modern, floral scent for girls/women.

Surprisingly it's not overbearing at all. Very decent, heavy but not too heavy, sweet scent.

Floral notes and vanilla are very dominant, synthetic but not overly so.

Nice choice for girls and women that don't want to send the message loudly.


Originality: 4/10
Scent: 7/10
Longevity: 9/10
Projection: 7/10
______________________
67,5%
31st August, 2019

Ombré Leather by Tom Ford

Very refined, elegant and luxurious. Closest description would be more rounded, smoother and a bit creamy Dior Fahrenheit. I just can't make a better description of it.

Exquisitely well done, albeit not really original. One can't hold any grudge because of this lack of originality because the fragrance is so damn good. It is maybe a bit of a taste to acquire and not for beginners.

Originality 5/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 6/10
_________________
70%
17th August, 2019

Tom Ford Noir by Tom Ford

This a very interesting scent. In style it reminds me of Encre Noire, however in character it has nothing to do with it.

Dark, mystical, mysterious, polarising, creamy in a dry and strange way. This scent is certainly a taste to acquire.

In the first half hour it was just ok and different, sort of specific scent. But after that it became something to seriously consider - maybe even buying.

Dry, woody (maybe styrax makes it a bit woody because of the tar and leather mix in it), dark, powdery, gloomy but not depressed.

Originality 6/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
__________________
70%
17th August, 2019

Tom Ford Noir Extreme by Tom Ford

Well, I was expecting something, got half-something and decided that for that price it's actually nothing.

There's a 1 Million catch about this one. I say, subjectively of course, that 1 Million Prive is better than Noir Extreme. Old latin proverb says: honores mutant mores. When you tell people it's Tom Ford, all of sudden it's a "very good fragrance".

Conclusion: nothing special at all, but I'm glad I tried it and didn't blind buy it.

Originality 3/10
Scent 5/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
__________________
55%
17th August, 2019

Soulmate Men by S Oliver

No much philosophy here. Fresh and aromatic, maybe a little brash and not special, but still in a nice positive way. For that price it's a good whole year rounder for multiple purposes.

Saffron and pepper are very invasive in the initial blast and even persist for some time. Tonka and amber become more noticable a bit later. Almost a lavander bomb too.

Conclusion: good ratio of what you pay for and what you get. Quite solid for the less developed noses.

Originality 3/10
Scent 6/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 8/10
__________________
62,5%
12th August, 2019 (last edited: 13th August, 2019)

Higher by Christian Dior

En par with Pasha de Cartier, well that style at least. Not modern even for the time when it was launched at 2001. Fresh, aromatic in an atypical, nonaquatic way.

Citrusy, aromatic and very sympathic. Relaxing and mature at the same time. For the summer heat and laziness in a spacey summer villa near the sea.

Brings about positive emotions, quite elating!

Originality 6/10
Scent 7/10
Longevity 8/10
Projection 6/10
___________________
67,5%
27th July, 2019

Run Wild for Men by Davidoff

I really don't like it. Rather acidic, sour with a strange vibe. Loud and brash, overbearing. Like a noisy maniac trying to make a statement by being very loud while thinking, better yet believeing, that his opinion matters and is the ultimate truth only because he is being very aggressive.

Originality 5/10
Scent 4/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
20th July, 2019

Uomo Signature by Salvatore Ferragamo

More clear, less creamy version of the original, yet very sweet.

For the winter and autumn evenings, especially autumn in my opinion. Really has some style this one.

It has all predispositions for me to want it, however I really don't want it in my collection. There are so many in this range of style on the market. P.R. 1 Million, or Prive flanker that I really dig. V&R Spicebomb, although a different beast and character, has that sweet semi gourmand vibe that is popular and appreciated.

Conclusion: the original Uomo and Signature flanker will have its followers, well earned and deserved I must add, but it'll never have the popularity of some already well established and known fragrances of similar vibe on the market.

It lasts 10+hours if not more and projects like a beast.


Originality 4/10
Scent 8/10
Longevity 9/10
Projection 8/10
__________________
72,5%
21st June, 2019

L'Eau Majeure d'Issey by Issey Miyake

Subjectively, for the first hour this fragrance is horrid.

Negative part of the review: the start of it is arduous. As if u enter a street where a lot of people like to urinate, or maybe a domestos liquid poured in an unwashed toilet. Rather terrible notion, but there it is.

Positive part of the review: whoever makes it through the first hour of this fragrance gets a very sharp, tangy or better yet spicy but dignifying scent that emulates seriousness and maturity.

Conclusion: who has a strong stomach for the first hour of this fragrance, it is well worth it.


Originality: 7/10 very tedious 7
Scent: 2/10 first hour then 6/10 for the rest of the time
Longevity: 8/10
Projection: 6/10
15th June, 2019

Cool Water Wave by Davidoff

Well, another flanker in a row. Subjectively I find this to be a positive fragrance.

If the original is a deeper sea, neither too warm nor too cold, CW Wave is a tropical, fizzy/foamy wave that cools you down a bit.

It's ok for a season, also to move away from the original for a moment.

Simple, summery, tropical and positive.

Scent 6/10
Originality 3/10
Longevity 7/10
Projection 6/10
_____________________
55%
15th June, 2019