Perfume Reviews

Reviews by dreese

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 92
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Marc Ecko Blue by Marc Ecko

Really well balanced and pleasant blue scent.The fruit, aquatic notes, and florals laying across a soft citrus and oakmoss base make this one of the better constructed blue fragrances. Whereas Eau Fraiche, Bulgaria Blv, and D&G Light Blue have a considerable amount of powder in the base that offsets the potency and freshness of the "blue" character of those scents, Marc Ecko Blue has a well-roubded sweetness that remains prominent throughout all of the layers. It's true that longevity and sillage are underwhelming, but this is very nice and half the price of most blue fragrances.
19th July, 2020
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Fujiyama Private Number by Succès de Paris

This is a very pleasant, dignified blend. Of course, one would expect it be start with the base of Fujiyama Homme and build some more exotic tones on top of that (just like the Miyake scents do, as they are so similarly developed). The top has that lemony-citric component balanced with iris, and a touch of vetiver laying across a darker body of a soft aquatic note, a dash of ambergris, pepper,and tobacco that appear without taking over the fragrance, and several floral notes creating a delicate floral base that is formal, yet whimsical at the same time. If I had to give an example, it is like combining Issey, Polo Double Black, and about 2% Swiss Army Mountain Water that serves to hold the others togehter. The quality of the notes lean toward being slightly synthetic, but this is still very nice. Longevity and sillage are sub-par, which might not be a surprise given the price. However, if anyone gets close enough to sniff this, it will get compliments. I do not know if this is still in production, so beware of a bottle that might be older than 5 years, as these tend to concentrate and become offensive. This is lovely, but there are definitely drawbacks.
18th July, 2020
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Samba Sport Man by Perfumer's Workshop

Such a beautifully balanced and unique fragrance! The lychee bonds with the bergamot and are supported by the heart notes, where the Davana flower, driftwood, and watercress (fused to represent a smell like a mixture of wine, fresh breezes, and cotton) and the overall impression is a sweet, very light, and airy fragrance. This scent gives the impression of shared smiles among flowerbeds in Spring. Sillage and longevity are very good, lasting throughout the work day. Superb offering from Samba. I remain impressed with Samba's blending of woods, fruits, and floral/herbals for $10-$20 each.
25th January, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

dreese Show all reviews
United States

Adidas Ice Dive by Adidas

This isn't an entirely unpleasant scent, but it is certainly misnamed, and I feel that folks should be aware of this before buying. The notes and musk make it a short-lived herbal scent, where the musk and tonka tends to overpower
the floral notes. I have difficulty recognizing any citrus.
23rd November, 2019
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Cuba Green by Cuba Paris

It seems that most "green" fragrances are centered around the use of vetiver, and this hay/grass aspect isn't always pleasing. Cuba Green does not use vetiver, but the lemon and florals and the very light touch of musk are lovely, rich, and sweet. They do form a pleasant, clean and fresh-soap fragrance that leans slightly toward a honey type of sweetness, and it is reminiscent of Horizon, but thinner and not as heavy. I received a number of compliments on it as a daytime, workplace scent.
23rd November, 2019
dreese Show all reviews
United States

British Sterling by Dana

The version from the 1970s was broad, sweet, and dominated by the top and heart notes. Just purchased the current version and the beautiful interplay of those notes now seem drowned out by musk. This is still the manly classic, just somewhat diminished-as are we all.
23rd November, 2018
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Canoé by Dana

Smells remarkably similar now to the scent of the late 1970s and 80s. Starts out smelling like Brut, which is bad. During the drydown the offending patchouli-moss-cedar mixture goes away, and this fragrance becomes a lovely, dignified stroll down a lane lined by lavender, geraniums, and heliotrope in full bloom.
23rd November, 2018
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Life by Nautica

Finally, after having worn 8 other sub-par fragrances from Nautica, I find one that is truly magnificent. The canvas/sailcloth undertone present in most Nautica scents is thankfully absent. The light and beautiful shape of the aquatic tones on a finely honed woody bass give this fragrance an undeniable seafaring spirit. This gives an impression of taking in the sun, the wind, and the salty seaspray at the helm of a sailboat. Every element is here.
05th November, 2017 (last edited: 03rd May, 2018)
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Halston 1-12 by Halston

There are light, sublime touches of lemon, basil, juniper, carnation, and jasmine that show through the cedarwood and mossy base. This smells like laying beneath a large oak while each note appears like sunlight shining through the leaves above you. Distinctly masculine, green, and powerful. One of the very few 80s masterpieces that still smells the same now as it did back then.
05th November, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Cuba Wild Heart by Cuba Paris

This is pleasant, but unremarkable. It has a common citrus-floral-wood shape and smells similar to about 26 other fragrances on the market right now. Very nice blended and linear, but longevity and sillage are only marginal. This is quite nice, but I doubt it will turn any heads.
05th November, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Curve Chill for Men by Liz Claiborne

Much respect to this sophisticated niche scent. I expected the citrus to dominate the scent, since the citrus features so prominently in so many fragrances these days, but there is a beautiful interplay going on here where the citrus combines with the bergamot and violet and lays just underneath them. The aldehydes, white pepper, and a tiny drop of green tea are like a binder that holds together the top and bottom layers. So achingly wonderful. I'm unsure what season Chill was meant for, but it is Spring now and I adore hearing and seeing Vivaldi's "La Primavera" during each whiff of this throughout the day.
05th May, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Old Spice Bearglove by Procter & Gamble

Apparently bears keep lots of melon in their gloves. I mean, a lot of melon. All kinds. These woods are covered in melon. Not bad if you like that sort of scent.
17th March, 2017
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Oscar de la Renta pour Lui by Oscar de la Renta

This is the modern version. Nothing positive to say. Far too syrupy sweet, moderately synthetic, low-rent floral.
29th December, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

dreese Show all reviews
United States

Perry Ellis Night by Perry Ellis

The first few times I wore this, it seemed to me to be another generic citrus scent, and that the "night" moniker was amiss. During a contemplative moment on a gloomy day when I was wearing it, I took a deep breath and a realization dawned upon me like a lightning bolt; it was a pure moment where a work of art hits home, like getting lost in a Van Gogh painting. During the middle of Night, the citrus retreats beneath a rich, dark, repining cedar and amber blanket laid out under a sensual canopy of bergamot stars in a cloudlit Night sky.
Yes, it is a Night fragrance, and these moments in the middle are sublime.
21st August, 2016 (last edited: 28th August, 2016)
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Reserve for Men by Perry Ellis

This is Eternity For Men. How has nobody noticed this?
27th May, 2016
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Christian Audigier For Him by Ed Hardy [Christian Audigier]

Do I have the right fragrance? I don't get any leather from this, but the scent overall is remarkably similar to Givenchy's Xeryous Rouge. The base seems constructed of the rum, vetiver, and pomello in place of XR's kumquat body. The berry does not go away for me, but lurks beneath the top layers of rum and vetiver and touches of saffron and moss. Stays close to the skin and lovely if you like the weirdness of XR, you'll like this also.
17th February, 2016
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Mediterráneo by Antonio Banderas

This starts out as a pleasant citrus, albeit with an ambiguous tartness inside. This heart is peppery and slightly reminiscent of fig, turning the blend with the citrus into an odd, green-olive-tinged summer scent.
Perhaps this was intended, but I'm not a fan of it.
30th July, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Avant Garde by Lanvin

This is a honey-tobacco symphony, elegant and refined. The shape is bold, but low-to-middle projection makes it a close-up secret. The notes are well-balanced and it feels that each ingredient appears in equal measure. Some here say that they don't detect the wax/honey, but I can detect it underneath the tobacco; for me they are intertwined.
20th June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

4711 Ice Green by 4711

This is lime and musk drenched in menthol and alcohol so intense that it burns the skin. This makes you smell like you are soused on gin. Thankfully it does not last.....
20th June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

True Blue Samba Man by Perfumer's Workshop

Vanilla, jasmine, apple, and fir balsam. This is a simple, linear, and uncomplicated scent. It is not reminiscent of the "blue" fragrances, but does follow Samba's pattern of blending florals, fruit, and woods into each mixture. It is not bad, but it is also unremarkable.
13th June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Samba for Men by Perfumer's Workshop

I enjoy the Samba fragrances; this is my 6th. Oddly enough, this is the one that I fell in love with in 1991 when my wife and I first met. I purchased it hoping to recapture that deep, exotic jasmine-laced air that permeated my nights then. Sadly, you can't go back again. This has been reformulated and is a brash combination of flowers and soap which does not last. It's not bad, just not as good as the other Samba fragrances, and it's not what I wanted.
03rd June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Beckham Signature for Him by Beckham

This is beautifully balanced and lovely. The melon is muted, wrapped inside the juniper berry, cypress, and aquatic tones. It is as fresh as a light northern breeze on a Spring night and the white amber finish is long-lasting and head-turning. This will get you compliments.
01st June, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Chrome Legend by Azzaro

Buysblind has this scent nailed down exactly. The synthetic portion for me comes right after application and leaves during the middle. This has a reordered construction to prevent it from smelling like so many other blue or citric scents.
20th April, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Samba Natural Man by Perfumer's Workshop

What a delightful take on the summery citrus frags! The mixed citrus, the light vetiver, and amber are shaped and held together by clear green tea tones that make up the body of the scent. Lasts well into the day and stays cheerful the entire time.
24th February, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Preferred Stock by Coty

The descriptions here are accurate, but to my nose this comes across as bitter and synthetic.
06th February, 2015
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Adidas Dynamic / Dynamic Pulse by Adidas

This type of spicy musk is at the opposite end of the spectrum from fresh, clean fragrances. It is sweet and dirty and musky and it made me smell like a guy who wears suspenders with his t-shirt while working at his flea market booth. In summary, wearing this made me ashamed.
26th December, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

AB Spirit Millionaire by Lomani

This is another of those fragrances, like 1 Million, that attempt to portray a scent of "gold". It is overly sweet on top and has a coppery bitterness inside. For those who like this type of scent, this will please you. It IS very similar to 1 Million, but with a dose of powder in the makeup that I have found in all of the AB's I have tried.
24th December, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Thallium Sport by Jacques Evard

The top is made up of bergamot, pineapple, and "oxygen accord", but just underneath this is a pronounced torso of equal parts orange, lime, and cedar. I have to say that this is a very sweet citrus bomb. Thallium Sport smells very similar to Happy by Clinique. The drydown is lovely as the musky and citrus hips begin to sway, making the whole body of the scent move in sync, the projection of a dancer in motion. This is a happy summer daytime fragrance, but with a seductive gleam in its eye as the evening comes on.

13th December, 2014
dreese Show all reviews
United States

AB Spirit by Lomani

This is an unusual fragrance blend. The manner in which the rose, lemon, iris, and woods combine creates two strong impressions; violets and powder. The lemon stays below the floral-wood combinations. I detect traces of pepper, eucalyptus, and a licorice tone in the base and these boost the darkness of the scent.
It is definitely an evening scent and I agree with Amos Jolthead that it is too sophisticated for a younger person to pull off. The longevity and sillage are both very good, since AB Spirit is long-lived and moves around you well without being too strong.
28th June, 2014 (last edited: 07th July, 2014)
dreese Show all reviews
United States

Curve Wave for Men by Liz Claiborne

Surprised that this fragrance is so poorly received. Right out of the bottle there were two impressions; lime and fresh soap.
It is the lightest and cleanest lime I have experienced in any lime-scented frags. All other lime-based fragrances I have used pair the lime with musk; Wave doesn't. Wave combines a very bright and robust lime with a soft aquatic breeze accord made up very soft touches of juniper, mint, and anise. The shape of the scent is linear, staying the same throughout the life of the scent. It is not long-lasting, but it is casual, pleasing, and unassuming. There is some passing similarity to L'Eau de Issey in the breezy construction, but Issey's lemon and yuzu make it too sharp for me.
26th June, 2014