Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Francop

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 360

My New York by Bond No. 9

Lovely Rose fragrance for warm weather with good longevity.

Thumbs up!
04th February, 2021 (last edited: 19th April, 2021)

Les 4 Saisons - Hiver by Martine Micallef

Beautiful fragrance indeed with fantastic longevity!

Thumbs up!!!
25th January, 2021

Les Exceptions : Oriental Express by Thierry Mugler

A very average synthetic amber scent with poor longevity.

Thumbs down!
16th December, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Rose Elixir Precieux by Christian Dior

Beautiful rose oil that lasts for ages...

Thumbs up!
05th November, 2020

Rose Petal by Berkeley Square

Beautiful natural rose smelling fragrance with good longevity.

Thumbs up!
05th November, 2020

Freshwood Electric Pre Shave by Boots

Lovely Woody scented pre- electric shave lotion with good longevity for the purpose it is made for.

Thumbs up!
24th October, 2020

TriBeCa by Bond No. 9

I bought a bottle of Tribeca Swarovski as a Lockdown treat because I really liked the sample I received. The bottle has only 2 wheels of crystals instead of the advertised photograph with 3 wheels so it did disappoint on arrival.

The fragrance has a lovely floral hazelnut mossy smell similar to Greenwich Village but without the fruits. I would classify it as a Chypre Gourmand and the longevity is very good.

It is a very well done fragrance despite initially developing olfactory fatigue when wearing it daily for 2 weeks. I now wear it once a week and it does last again all day.

Thumbs up!

02nd October, 2020 (last edited: 19th April, 2021)

Gold Coast by Bond No. 9

Synthetic watermelon and a very freshie rose accord that lasts forever.

First Bond that I have had to scrub off...

Not for me...
04th September, 2020

Dubai Diamond by Bond No. 9

Beautiful Arabic Fragrance with excellent longevity.

Very similar DNA to Bond Dubai Emerald and Bond New York Oud.

Thumbs up!
04th September, 2020

Coast - Rock Samphire and Driftwood by National Trust

Citrusy aromatic woody Eau de toilette perfectly suited for hot weather.

Very nice overall; just wished it lasted longer...

Thumbs up!
03rd September, 2020

Acqua Colonia Rhubarb & Clary Sage by 4711

Lovely refreshing cologne for the warmer weather with average longevity.

Thumbs up!
12th August, 2020

Celima by Henry Jacques

Beautiful fruity fragrance with a flag note of bitter orange that is surrounded by complementary notes of carnation and sandalwood, creating an olfactory trip of childhood memories in rural faraway orchards.

There is no sweetness in the dry down but a journey of spicy colours throughout this dream of harvest and joy.

Perfectly unisex and wearable for any occasion.

Thumbs up!

06th July, 2020

New Bond St. by Bond No. 9

This fragrance is a re-release of another Bond no 9 fragrance in a different bottle with a much higher price.

Who remembers I Love New York for All in a black bottle? A discontinued Superb Gourmand fragrance for winter that can be found online...

Having said that, you must be a hardcore perfume enthusiast to wear this as it may have the effect of a nuclear explosion on your nose if you are a sweet 16 starter on the fragrance universe as the juice is strong. However, you must try it out for yourself to decide...

I personally love it!

Thumbs up!

PS. Micallef perfume house has brought out an almost identical fragrance called “Secrets of Love - Gourmet” where the cocoa note is replaced with incense as aroma chemical so the olfactory experience is rather weird; I prefer the Bond concoction by far. I very much doubt that Jean Claude Astier is the perfumer behind this Micallef fragrance.
06th March, 2020
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Lavande by L'Occitane

Refreshing and calming long lasting fruity aromatic lavender.

The large bottle does a brilliant job keeping you fragranced at all times.

Thumbs up!
14th February, 2020

Aoud 1 by Martine Micallef

Light fruity fragrance with sweet woody undertones. I am surprised of its weak performance in winter (unless my decant was diluted).

I must try it in summertime.

Mediums Thumbs!
06th February, 2020

Take Me to the River by 4160 Tuesdays

Delightful long lasting fragrance made with notes that resemble the journey of a very long Saturday night out partying till the early hours of Sunday Morning.

The accords of raspberry jam, wine, leather, cognac, rose, tobacco & musk dance together in harmony throughout the journey of the fragrance in a subtle but persistent way.

There are waves of sweetness, leather, tobacco & alcohol very well executed and long lasting. Nice & addictive...

Thumbs up!
26th January, 2020

Gourmet by Micallef

I bought this fragrance blindly & greatly discounted online. I now know why...

Despite a beautiful bottle & packaging, the fragrance feels full of aroma chemicals instead of essential oils.

I would describe it as nutty incense that comes & goes...

It is almost identical to I Love New York for All by Bond no 9 but in the Bond perfume, the cocoa note although it feels identical to the incense note, it does last for 24 hours plus.

I am a bit disappointed with this fragrance as it comes from one of my favourite perfume houses. However, you should try it for yourself to find out if it works for you.

Medium Thumbs!
22nd January, 2020 (last edited: 30th January, 2020)

Freeway by 4160 Tuesdays

I truly love this fragrance, so addictive, uplifting, green & long lasting.

Best of the House so far...

Double Thumbs up!!
21st January, 2020

Citrus Shores by Arran Aromatics

Strong citrusy fragrance reminiscent of Christmas days; perfect for winter time.

Thumbs up!
06th January, 2020

Ealing Green by 4160 Tuesdays

Beautiful green & persistent fragrance for outdoor time in either spring or mild winter days.

Thumbs up!
05th January, 2020

Tola Pure Oil: Harrods Agarwood by Bond No. 9

Beautiful & long lasting version of Harrods Agarwood in a pure perfume oil form.

Thumbs up!
04th January, 2020

Mrs Gloss & The Goss : Rhubarb & Custard by 4160 Tuesdays

Gorgeous gourmand fragrance with real notes of rhubarb & custard rounded by fruity notes.
The dry down with added vanilla is to die for...

Perfect for winter time.

Good projection & longevity.

Thumbs up!
29th December, 2019

Another Kiss by the Fireside by 4160 Tuesdays

Beautiful winter long lasting fragrance centred around winter fires & Christmas notes.

Thumbs up!
17th December, 2019

Burnt Cedar Rainbow Doves by 4160 Tuesdays

Beautiful winter bonfire fragrance; perfect for outdoor walks or cosy nights in.

Excellent projection & longevity.

Thumbs up!
16th December, 2019

Flame of Gold by Orlov Paris

Synthetic disappointment.

Thumbs down!
15th October, 2019

203 Man by Micallef

This fragrance is the Jewel for him that Micallef should have made instead of the current watery jewel for him that we have nowadays.

A true experience of masculine fougere alchemy at it best.

Thumbs up!
09th July, 2019

202 Man by Micallef

202 Man and Spicy for him are virtually the same fragrance.

Please read my review of Spicy for him to get an idea.

Both fragrances are absolutely stunning.

Thumbs up!
09th July, 2019

201 Man by Micallef

Citrusy fresh with a lot going on after the initial top notes.

I would describe the heart as “Silver”. An accord imitated by other houses with lots of synthetics although here it is the real deal of masculinity & summer fougere style.

Absolutely Delightful!

Thumbs up!
09th July, 2019

Greenwich Village by Bond No. 9

Long lasting fruity mossy chypre.

Very nice!

Thumbs up!
25th May, 2019 (last edited: 01st October, 2020)

Odelia by Abaco

Floral fragrance for spring mornings.

Have I smelled it before?

Average Longevity...
11th May, 2019