Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Derbyman

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 8
Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

1770 by Yardley

Well....I cracked and bought this blind. Boots claimed the tester had been stolen so I splashed the £20.00 and bought a bottle. Glad I did though - it's a good fragrance. Not outstanding but well crafted and smells like it has good quality ingredients. It starts off with quite a boozy smell, very warm and woody with an ambery undertone. As it develops the cocoa note appears and the vanilla comes through. It never quite becomes a gourmand scent as the dry, woody notes never subside enough but it's slightly sweet and moreish. Overall I think it's more complex and expensive smelling than I expected. At times the 'woody' aspect reminds me of Gucci PH (2003) but with an ambery, vanilla in the background. The longevity is pretty good - I've worn it 4 or 5 times now and I can still smell it clearly after 5-6 hours. It's not a crazy, projecting powerhouse fragrance but it has substance. The bottle is very nice and somehow suits the contents very well. It's not an 'old-fashioned' fragrance as you might have expected from Yardley - this is quite contemporary smelling and will hopefully win the house some younger fans...!
19th January, 2017
Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Fire Island by Bond No. 9

This is the smell of summer in a bottle for me. The memory-invoking smell of expensive suntan lotion with a bright, floral backdrop. After a few hours the musky, sun-warmed skin smell appears blending seamlessly with the Neroli which dominates this perfume. I only wear this when the sun is out as it seems odd at any other time. The usual excellent Bond longevity (12hrs+ with ease) and perfect projection are here as expected. Yes, it is expensive but one or two sprays last forever. Some things are just worth the money.

Summer days at the beach in a bottle...!
12th June, 2014
Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tabac Original by Mäurer & Wirtz


Review for the original Eau de Cologne: Tabac EDC is the perfect foil to all the worlds niche fragrance junk. Cool, unassuming in its simple white bottle unchanged by time. It exceeds effortlessly where hundreds of MUCH more expensive fragrances fail by somehow imposing a sense of great wellbeing on the wearer whilst smelling wonderful. No wonder it has remained popular for so long.
18th September, 2012
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Francesco Smalto pour Homme by Francesco Smalto

This late-eighties gem stands out from the powerhouse crowd with its smoky, oily quality which underpins the fragrance from the breathtaking first blast to the smooth, mellow drydown. The strong, herbal opening is very pleasing with a prominent lavender accord which balances out the smokiness. In time the floral heart shines through and the fragrance becomes deeper, fuller and the leather moves to the front, albeit a rougher, oilier leather than found in the likes of Trussardi or Aramis, and the patchouli emerges also. The drydown is lovely, mossy-leather with the ever present smokiness now much subdued. There's plenty going on here - this is not a one-dimensional beast. Sure, it is a heavy-hitter and lasts 12hrs+ with ease but it's a shapeshifter and there are suprises in every sniff. Absolutely wonderful - a firm favourite.
26th July, 2011
Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Davidoff by Davidoff

Sometimes a fragrance comes along which massively exceeds any expectations one might have of it and Davidoff is that fragrance. Yes it's powerful, yes it's long-lasting but it also has that 'x-factor' indefinable quality which makes you want to keep getting those satisfying whiffs curling up to your nose. It starts out bold and brash with big citrus and floral notes which, when sniffed closely, are really intense and, to my nose at least, pretty crude but then the magic happens! The heart is beautiful, warm, woody and tobacco-like with hints of dry vetiver coming through then the everlasting drydown with a prominant leather note and patchouli adding into the mix. This is a fragrance which if applied carefully (not too little, not too much) envelops the wearer in a fantastic glowing aura - the smell is moreish and satisfying.

The overall feel is old-school, gentleman's club - I can imagine this would smell GREAT mixed with cigar smoke (or even cigarette smoke). I'm not a smoker but it's that kind of frag. I absolutely LOVE this and wish, like many others, that Davidoff would respect their heritage and keep this in production. Sure, it's not going to out sell Cool Water but I'm sure Davidoff doesn't need the $$$...! The original and, by far, the best.
24th June, 2011
Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bogart pour Homme by Jacques Bogart

My initial reaction when I spray this scent is that it is like a mixture of unburnt sweet cherry pipe tobacco with a strong underlying note of unburnt cigarette tobacco - the smell you get when you sniff inside a cigarette packet. These two predominant notes seem to float separately from each other - they are almost equal but distinct from each other - quite strange! I can see why this is described by many as 'sweet' as the cherry tobacco note is indeed very sweet but not cloyingly so (very smooth) and the underpinning cigarette tobacco note confuses the senses into almost ignoring the sweetness - weird! I really like it! It has a nice 70's lounge lizard vibe and the bottle is great too - chrome and smoked-grey glass. Sweet, warm Cherry Tobacco - albeit muted and softened with the vanilla and tonka coming through. I REALLY love this stuff!
12th July, 2010
Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Paco Rabanne Pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

A classic aromatic fougere created in 1973 (the year I was born!) - this distinctive, masculine fragrance is fresh and 'green' drying down into a clean, soapy accord with notes of honey, tobacco and pine. Reportedly the inspiration behind the creation of Azzaro Pour Homme which surfaced three years later. Shares many similarities with Azzaro Pour Homme, however, if the Azzaro is warm, sunny and 'orange' in feel, Paco Rabanne is clean, fresh and 'green' whilst projecting a similar 'barbershop' vibe. Good longevity whilst staying quite close to the skin. Very much of its time but classic, not dated! Would never be without it!
07th June, 2010
Derbyman Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Giorgio for Men by Giorgio Beverly Hills

I came late to this fragrance as I bought it blind a few months ago and was able to smell it for the first time without a view biased by its association with the whole ‘80’s Powerhouse’ genre. I consider this to be a wonderfully rich, opulent and luxurious fragrance with great longevity and sillage. It opens with citrus and spice and dries down into a beautiful amber, vanilla and patchouli fragrance wrapping the wearer in a rich cloak-like glow. Maybe my perception is swayed by the ‘Beverly Hills’ in the name but this smells of confidence and luxury. It is certainly a powerful fragrance and needs to be used very sparingly to appreciate it fully. It is quite ‘heady’ and aromatic even in small doses – one or two sprays is enough for 12+ hours longevity and it will last forever on clothing! This is one of my favourite fragrances in my collection and was also probably the best value being sub-£15 for 118ml!! Don’t let the bargain price fool you though – this is no cheap, artificial pretender but is a superb, original smelling gem. Big thumbs up for this one!
17th March, 2010