Perfume Reviews

Reviews by mademoiselle_nicole

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 69

Putain des Palaces by Etat Libre d'Orange

There are many people today in Versailles .- “yes, many people” who remembers Asia Argento as. Madame Dubarry in Marie Antoinette , sees what I smell here. She is beautiful but In a very touchable , carnal way. You smell her: powder, fragrance , lipstick , rather a tad too much, a bit too loud. But pleasant. Attractive in a very down to earth way. The scent is sensual , physical , a bit dirty. This woman knows she is beautiful and she uses it to her advantage. She is not poised or ethereal but witty. She laughs too loud, talks too much, dances too fast, her hair uncontrollable just as her temper. The violet , pepper, rose, powder... it all mingles together as she drags the king onto her sheets of
24th September, 2020

Portrait of a Lady by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

White skin under a dark red velvet corset. A knife hidden near a pumping heart. Blood rushing in her ears. By no means will she spare them. Her mind sharp as the knife , her intentions dark but just ..... a lady who stands up for herself. No galantuomo needed. She is free and upright , no one will bend her

A fragrance for a woman deciding her own destiny. Powerful , dark, refined , noble. Red rose , earthy tones and a glimpse of humour when a small raspberry allows a sneak peek on who she is when she is in a good mood.
She can kill or caress ... up to you
13th September, 2020

Tralala by Penhaligon's

Venice- a small room in an antique building. wooden ceiling and porose stone floors. Everything absorbed the saltiness of decades exposed to the air of the lagoon. A rough wool rug in dark but vibrant colours laid over crisp white linen sheets, mingles in the gloom of a single candle with a gold infused coat of wine red silk velvet. A small wooden table carries a vase with a tiny bouquet of fresh violets. Buttery golden saffron risotto simmering in a pot. And while Ella Fitzgerald sings “easy to love” ,the red wine shimmers in the glasses and the moment seems endless. The world outside has faded
11th September, 2020 (last edited: 22nd September, 2020)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Midnight by Dorothy Gray

I do not know what Jack twist smelled but it must be light years from the original . I imagine he smelled a new version , not having anything in common with the original but the name,
My review is about the original , discontinued around thirty years ago. I possess a full bottle of the heavenly juice. My grandmother used this perfume on special occasions and I was lucky enough to find a full one on ebay some years ago. Heavenly classy but far from boring. Lauren Bacall could wear this when young. In the Style of jubilation 25 or gold by amouage. Or rose by le labo . There is no list of components but I bet there is pepper , clover rose and maybe incense.
I wish this was still produced in the original way
Just wonderful golden concoction of class
01st January, 2020

Sale Gosse by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Love at First Wiff. I worked long years in niche perfumery. I am hard to convince. This is not overly new or anyhow complicated. But it is a charming , well done (for me currently the best )orange blossom. much better than fleur d’oranger by lelabo. And most importantly it works perfectly on me. Lovely orange blossom. Bought a bottle immediately and did not regret.
After you spray it, there is sth to it that reminds on the french Patisserie using orange blossom water for their sweets. It is not Gourmand but yet delicious. It reminds me of the holidays with my grandma in south France when I was small, it smells like what a genuine soap and water beauty looks like. Sth pure. Effortless. Elegant and sparkling. It matches a white slim evening dress for a grande soirée just as well as a pair of light blue jeans with a white blouse. A marvel
09th June, 2019 (last edited: 02nd February, 2020)

Vittoria Apuana by Profumi del Forte

I am in Love. It is summer holidays in a bottle. Sun cream, buttery tiaré, coconut and warm sand ... open sea happiness. A plain happy scent that is wearable in the office
22nd April, 2018

Riviera Palace by L'Artisan Parfumeur

A beauty. Launched in 1990 it has more of a 1950s feel to it. You would imagine it on a young classy lady of that era. Peach coloured chiffon comes to my mind. Even though it is classic there is no such thing as the dust of outdatedness about it. It is breezy, chic and essentially feminine. Many girls today couldn’t handle this I imagine. But it is a pity they discontinued it.
24th March, 2018

La Tulipe by Byredo

Pretty! This is the first thing coming to my mind trying la tulipe. Pretty in a very polished polite and agreeable way. Yet it is not flat as the word agreeable might suggest. It has a refined character, classy and elegant. It is well behaved but far from boring. Bubbly but not unnerving. Fresh, and soft notes of freesia lilac and tulips intermingle, keeping it on the sunny side. If la tulipe was a girl, it would be that long legged , dark blond, elegant, rich, educated, girl that you would urge to hate but can’t because on top she is funny, down to earth, kind hearted and totally easy going about all of her enviable gadgets. I bought this last week and got compliments from five people till now. Worth loving it
07th February, 2018

222 by Le Galion

Soft, subtle, elegant. This departs with a soft , round sandalwood inviting you gently to want to smell more. An accord of smokey leather which gains depth thanks to the presence of Myrrhe and styrax. It is rich but tamed with white Moschus and vanilla. This is understated , sexy and elegant and will be equally suitable for a male or female. Very well balanced ... thinking about a bottle
31st May, 2017 (last edited: 07th February, 2018)

Iris by Le Galion

A very soft and subtle fragrance , close to the skin and powdery due to the iris and atlas cedar adding up with a fresh tad due to the mimosa and lily. Not an all forward iris fragrance yet sth you would love to smell on a person close to you in the morning or on a hot summer day. Clean and delicate
31st May, 2017 (last edited: 07th February, 2018)

Sortilège by Long Lost Perfume

Ladylike but not at all outdated or boring. Classy and chic. Sth Lauren Bacall could wear. Soft, not loud but yet undeniably enigmatic While clearly a fragrance transporting the vibe of the 1950s it is by far not what the old lady would have worn by that time. Consider Lauren Bacall was female member of honour to the rat pack. Sexy, nonchalant , deeply classy , symphonic yet uncomplicated to wear. Genious
31st May, 2017 (last edited: 12th June, 2017)

La Rose by Le Galion

Dewy, cheerful, extremely feminine. Somewhat modern ... if it was a couloir it would be a rosy coral . Not faceted but nice for a happy day with a summer picnic
31st May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Collection Notes de Fond : Vanille-Benjoin by Affinessence

Leathery,dirty, slightly animalic notes form the basis , a resinous heart gives depth and density and on top sits a soft, delicious, high end vanilla
The whole collection of affinescence is pricey but worth it. If you have a trained nose you will realise that the ingredients are high class fine quality
27th May, 2017

Collection Notes de Fond : Cèdre-Iris by Affinessence

The whole collection of affinescence is pricey but worth it. If you have a trained nose you will realise that the ingredients are high class fine quality . Said that cedre iris is a powdery, slightly gourmand nutty scent that departs similar to Bois farine by artisan. Soft round engaging without being edge less. In the beginning I smell iris and sandalwood , the cedar comes out only very late adding some edge to this smooth nose hugger
27th May, 2017

Collection Notes de Fond : Santal-Basmati by Affinessence

Surprising, the smell of white fresh boiled basmati rice instantly makes you smile.?develops to a soft, nonchalant fragrance which is at the same time relaxing and exciting
18th May, 2017 (last edited: 19th May, 2017)

Superstitious by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Old school huge Jasmin and rose concoction. A 1950s fragrance. The feel it creates is similar to fleurissime by creed. Nothing you wear when you want sth understated . I bought a bottle but it is not an everyday fragrance
23rd April, 2017

Casamorati 1888 Lira by Xerjoff

A November day in north Italy, fog hanging over the lake of iseo. All you see is facettes of grey. And then a small golden spot... A small chocolate shop with handmade pralines...champagne orange truffles....

I was there this November day. This is what Lira smells like
29th September, 2016

Vinaigre de Toilette by Diptyque

This is born from a story. During the times of black pest in France , the men who had to carry the cadavers out of the living quarters in Paris used this to clean themselves..... And did not get contamined by the pest. This is why this toner had been reproduced ... You can layer it under other fragrances and it makes the hair very shiny
29th September, 2016

Hermèssence Cuir d'Ange by Hermès

I did classic ballet for many years. The little leather shoes dancers use always have a smell of warm , soft leather mixed with the scent of the powder you use in order not to slip out on the floor while dancing..,, this is exactly what cuir d'ange smells like. To me it is oddly familiar but elegant . I love it
07th September, 2016

Cuir Garamante by MDCI

This fragrance is so aquiline and beautiful. I think it needs to be worn by a woman. On a man it might get too dark or dusty . It has a unique balance between a warm and an icy impact. Cutting but cozy .
01st August, 2016

Une Rose by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

this is the ultimate english garden rose. a real, fresh, genuine big red rose, standing proudly in a garden emanating it´s fragrance with intoxicating power. I love it.
14th February, 2016

Iris Nazarena by Aedes de Venustas

a beautiful fragrance, a conservative idea put into practice with a modern feel. classy, well balanced, Schwieger´s pièce de résistance are the iris based powdery scents. I love lipstick rose and expected much from iris nazarena.I have not been disappointed. He does special or nothing. here he did special again
02nd March, 2015

Oeillet Bengale by Aedes de Venustas

Great, much more significant than artisan´s new pale new edition of oeillet sauvage. understated, elegant. not loud, not into the eye, just velvety and classic.
This might not be a signature scent or something overly complex, it is linear, simple and powdery. Who loved the old oeillet sauvage will love this
01st March, 2015 (last edited: 14th February, 2016)

Rose de Siwa / FK2 by MDCI

I am with NIB here. This rose opens delicate, classy and victorian. It is a child´s dream grown up. A pink rose garden, fresh, lovely, classic yet not boring. Next to une rose di malle one of my favorite roses. Not overly bursting of fantasy, but really good mannerly done.I think I will buy one at this point
23rd July, 2014 (last edited: 07th January, 2017)

Péché Cardinal by MDCI

This fragrace was playing with my nerves. I liked it from the first time I got a whiff of it. ... Yet this is absolutely nothing I would normally go for. I like classy, spicy, elegant. This is lush, fruity,sweet. The name is perfect for it because first of all I felt like doing sth forbidden when I bought it in the end.... due to the mentioned fact that it seems not to be in my line normally. If You feel obliged to wear fragrances which are noble, elegant and demure, then this big tubereuse, coconut,peach concoction makes you feel a tad ashamed. Like a chic lady that You catch accidently during a holiday wearing hotpants... this stuff is sexy, lush, lovely, delicious and yet well done so you kind of cant get around it. It is that little sexy thing that you need in your wardrobe. addictive.
23rd July, 2014

Hanbury by Maria Candida Gentile

The botanical garden of Hanbury is based in Ventimiglia which lingers on the italian side of the costa azzurra.
Explosions of flowers wait behind high walls which protect the gardens from the curious eyes of the outsider. The flowers lift up under the strikingly blue morning sky like the song of a single flute. During the day they warm up getting fuller, adding up to a heavier and opulent chant , yet never losing their elegance and tone of white.
They linger along when the dawn resolves them from the torture of the heat donating a bit of rest in a cool wind from the sea. A symphony swelling on and off during the day. This beauty plays with you .Once catapulting you right into the middle of a flower bush, once letting you rest under it.
And sometimes, in the moments of greatest desire, it allows you only to perceive its beauty as a whisper from afar while you are waiting impatiently to be let into the palace and a soft breeze carries the promise of eternal beauty over the thick walls...

painfully beautiful... I cant get around a bottle
18th June, 2014

Exultat by Maria Candida Gentile

Exultat, the name says it. It exceeds my expectations. A very well balanced fragrance made with passion. Round and edgy at the same time. I tried this on recommendation of a friend and fell in love. The oranges give just a nearly undetectable wiff of sourness and freshness to the depart which is yet essential for the balance of the fragrance. Then you immediately perceive the dry elegant cedar, the earthy vetiver and by this point you should already be in love. The incense is balsamic, eccelsiastic, yet not too tamed. It curls through the whole construction like a clean grey smoke directed to heaven but clearly coming from earth. Exultat has depth, is resoundingly spiritual and creates a bridge between you and your reflecting inner self. A cloud of soft ethereal violets embrace the feminine side of this beauty. Wearabel for both genders a real discovery. Worth every penny. I adour
I will soon head off to get a bottle
18th June, 2014

La Belle Hélène by MDCI

so.... I really wanted this bottle.... and couldn´t find any fragrance of this house that I really liked. Until they released la belle hélène. When i read Ducheaufour made it, I wanted to give it a try. It is a gourmand Chypre. Even though the Chypre notes are not all present, this is the effect of it. Elegant, rich, gourmand but not overly sweet. Candied pear in a bed of gourmand and oriental notes. Nice and warm. Definitely worth a try for who dislikes the sweetness of crushed fruit salad in perfume. nicely done
27th December, 2013 (last edited: 09th June, 2016)

La Haie Fleurie du Hameau by L'Artisan Parfumeur

this is young ornella muti in a white fur coat. a gorgeous 1950s inspired jasmine accord. lovely
27th December, 2013