Art & Olfaction Finalists announced at Esxence

06th April, 2018

Yesterday at the Esxence fragrance fair in Milan, the nominees for the fifth annual Art & Olfaction Awards were announced by Institute for Art and Olfaction's Director Saskia Wilson-Brown, along with judges Antonio Gardoni, Spyros Drosopoulos, Ashraf Osman and Simon Niedenthal.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony held at the Tabernacle in London on Saturday, April 21, 2018.


  • Bee's Bliss by Sonoma Scent Studio (Laurie Erickson)
  • Chienoir by BedeauX (Amanda Beadle)
  • Cigar Rum by Strangers Parfumerie (Prin Lomros)
  • Club Design by The Zoo (Christophe Laudamiel)
  • Impressions de Giverny by Fort and Manle (Rasei Fort)
  • Morah by Pryn Parfum (Prin Lomros)
  • Silphium by Stora Skuggan (Tomas Hempel, Olle Hemmendorff)
  • Touchstone by Aether Arts Perfume (Amber Jobin)
  • Villa M by Paul Schütze Perfume (Paul Schütze)
  • Wonderly by The House of Oud (Andrea Casotti)


  • A.E.O.M. by Bijon (Cécile Zarokian, Oliver Babic)
  • Ankh Sun Amon by Anima Mundi (Cristian Calabrò, Andrea Casotti, Emilia Chinigò)
  • Cacao Aztèque by Perris Monte Carlo (Mathieu Nardin, Gian Luca Perris)
  • Eau de Virginie by Au Pays de la Fleur d'Oranger (Jean-Claude Gigodot, Virginie Roux)
  • Elephant by Zoologist (Chris Bartlett, Victor Wong)
  • London by Gallivant Perfumes (Karine Chevallier, Nick Steward)
  • Nuit de Bakélite by Naomi Goodsir (Isabelle Doyen, Naomi Goodsir, Renaud Coutaudier)
  • Osang by Talismans - Collezione Preziosa (Giovanni Festa, Stefania Squeglia)
  • Pink Heart v.6 by Map Of The Heart (Jacques Huclier, Nisrine Grillie, Sarah Blair, Jeffrey Darling, Giovanna Aicardi)
  • Rose Olivier by Bastide (Mathieu Nardin, Frederic Fekkai)


  • Olfactory Games by Maki Ueda
  • Under the Horizon by Oswaldo Macia (IFF)
  • Smoke Flowers by Peter de Cupere (IFF (Bernardo Fleming, Meahb Mc Curtin, Laura French, Gregoire Hausson, Marine Hetheier))
  • Whoa (Pineapple Nails) by Aleesa Cohene
  • The Library of Smell by Hisako Inoue with Anne Marr (Mika Shirasu for ERATO Touhara Chemosensory Project)


Given to an outstanding person who makes significant contributions to public awareness of artisan, independent and experimental practices with scent on an international scale.


Given to one outstanding small batch perfume that was 100% perfumer-created, in-house, with no use of outsourced compounding or expansion at any stage of the process.

You can find out more about the finalists at the Awards website here.

  • Share this


    Advertisement — comments are below


      • hednic | 6th April 2018 15:25

        Glad to see that Eau De Virginie won an award in the independent category!

      • gandhajala | 6th April 2018 16:46

        Congrats to Chris Bartlett on the nomination!

      • CapriDog | 6th April 2018 17:45

        Prin Lomros has two nominations. Nice!

        Has anyone smelled Cigar Rum or Morah?

      • Hazel5 | 10th April 2018 03:41

        I have sampled only a few of these. The testlist grows!

      • | 10th April 2018 04:44

        What's the difference between an "artisan" and an "independent"?

      • Hazel5 | 10th April 2018 12:15

        I didn't know either. I had to read the rules of entry to find out.

        Artisan Awards: For perfume houses that are owned or co-owned by the submission's primary perfumer, who initiated and created the submission's formula in-house.

        Independent Awards: For perfume brands that employed an external perfumer or fragrance house to initiate and create the submitted perfume, then released under the brand's name.

      • | 10th April 2018 16:46

        Thank you, Hazel, for enabling my laziness. :)

        Wouldn't that definition of 'independent' include just about every mainstream perfume house in the world? Or does the word 'initiate' mean the perfumer has complete freedom and is not working to the specs of a brief?

      • Hazel5 | 10th April 2018 20:15

        Great questions. No idea.