Code of Conduct

Default Current Formulation Antaeus - Castoreum Question

Sorry to bother you folks with this but I have browsed the internet many times and I cannot find a definitive answer on and I guess this is what the forum is for! It's something I've been quite interested in finding out about for a while.. and I was just wondering could someone with some knowledge on perfumery give me their input on this.. I've no knowledge on actual perfumery myself. So I apologise.

Basically, I was just wondering, does anyone know what form of castoreum is used in current formulation Antaeus? Also, was natural castoreum used in the vintage formulations? I'm pretty much guessing it was.. If so.. and it has been changed to a synthetic alternative.. when did the change take place, etc.. I know this is a somewhat difficult question but if anyone could shed some light on it I'd appreciate it greatly.

I assume in this day and age, it would be unlikely for such a house to use natural animal derived ingredients? Didn't they drop civet in No.5 sometime around the late 90's? I guess this could be seen as a good or a bad thing, depending on what side of the fence you are on! I had a similar question about YSL Kouros and civet, someone kindly informed me that YSL switched to synthetic civet sometime in the mid 80's (from memory) and only the early years that actually used natural civet.

But I'm wondering about castoreum this time. I've obviously heard it specifically mentioned in the likes of Chanel Antaeus, it's a dominant note in the fragrance. Many other names have cropped up in the same sentence as castoreum, for example Cuir de Russie, Magie Noire, Lancôme Caractère, Hechter Madame, Givenchy III, and Shalimar. The majority of these I've read on vegan sites so, not specially fragrance experts.. Maybe most of these are using synthetic substitutes nowadays?