Code of Conduct

Default I'm new to fragrences, and constantly worried about "overspraying."

I know this isn't as huge of a deal right now, when everyone is wearing masks in public, but I've getting into fragrances the last few months and am having a hard time figuring out how much to apply for each type/brand/etc. I live alone, so I can't ask someone else what they think.

I would really like to hear any tips or tricks the community uses to find out what an "appropriate amount" to wear is for each fragrance they have. I realize this can vary by region and culture, but there usually seems to be an average amount that most people find acceptable. My goal with my fragrance is to enjoy it myself, but I also want people nearby to notice it too. Like a couple feet away or after I have passed by. I know you can't please everyone, and some people are going to dislike the amount you wear regardless, but there seems to be an "average" amongst the majority of people.

At times I wonder if I am thinking about this too much, but I really don't want to become the dreaded "cologne guy." I'd much rather be the "guy that smells good" guy. ;P

When I live with someone again it'll be much easier to try new fragrances out, but until then I'd like to figure out how to do it myself.

Default Re: I'm new to fragrences, and constantly worried about "overspraying."

To avoid worrying, which defeats one goal of fragrance wearing which in my mind is to help you feel a bit more confident and self assured, under spray. As long as you can smell your precious elixirs throughout the day, be happy. Each fragrance has its own sillage, or strength, which you will need to become familiar with. I’ve marked some of my more beastly bottles to remind me no more than one or even a half spray. Weather will play a factor as well. So as someone who’s still learning (as are we all) start small.

When you’re home alone or going to sleep, go wild with wanton abandoned if you wish.