Code of Conduct

Default New and looking for classic perfume recommendations.

Hello! There has been something oddly addicting and soothing about reading the reviews here on Basenotes since the Pandemic. It's a sort of mindless poetry, painting pictures of things I've never experienced. I am not quite sure what brought me here- I work in the medical field and have never worn perfumes or scents. Yet somehow, I have fallen in love and absolutely need to know more.
    The only perfumes I ever wear is my grandmothers beautiful Shalimar, and only on Thanksgiving and Christmas, and my beloved mothers Diorissimo on Easter, graduations and weddings. In recent years I've been gifted two other nice perfumes I wear to meetings , soir de lune and a hermes amber (I can't remember it's exact name) and they were beautiful and suiting. yet this funny thing happened. I was cleaning my now long on her own daughters bedroom and making donation piles when i discovered these really beautiful, tacky perfumes that smelled like dessert. I fell in love. Not with the teenager scents, but the part of me who could wear such a fun scent. who knew!?
    So, I have been wondering- are there any sweet, gourmand (is that the right word) delicious scents that are elegant and not childish?
    Thank you all. I love the beauty and poetry of this sight so much.HR][/HR]

Reside in McLean, Va., Manhattan NYC, Manuel Antonio Costa Rica & Bśzios Brasil

Default Re: New and looking for classic perfume recommendations.

Welcome to you SpriteLily_1959! Enjoy your time here at Basenotes! I get the sense from reading what you wrote that you are female. If so, i wouldn't be able to help you with female fragrances, but if you like sweet gourmands, I'd suggest checking out the offerings of two houses: Maison De La Vanille and Comptoir Sud Pacifique.
    Remember that while it is perfectly acceptable to criticize the content of a post - criticizing the poster is not.