Code of Conduct
    Basenotes Plus

Question How to decide if it's FBW

Hi everyone! I'm new to Basenotes and to fragrance generally, but have been buying up a lot (like...a LOT) of samples and trying to learn as much as I can.

After smelling a sample on a card and wearing it at least once, I put it into one of 3 freezer bags - 1.) Love, 2.) Like/OK/Worth another try, and 3.) Nope. Unsurprisingly, bag #2 is the largest, and I'm trying to give every perfume in bag #2 an honest try, multiple times, in case I come to appreciate it more as I continue to educate myself.

That said, it's hard to resist the temptation to rush out and buy full bottles of the ones I really love in bag #1, especially if I've worn it a few times and the sample is running low. Alas, I do not have an unlimited perfume budget.

So my question is, how do you experienced perfumistas decide when it's worth buying a full bottle? I'm worried I'll end up with more than I could ever possibly wear. I also recognize I'm a noob and my tastes and preferences could change and then I'll have a bunch of perfumes I don't love. Advice?

Wearing Perfume Right Now

Default Re: How to decide if it's FBW

I think there's no wrong approach.

I would probably only buy things from the love bag. I might narrow down what to buy from the love bag by wearing the samples around other people and getting feedback.

Basenotes Plus

I tend to wear a sample or decant for at least 24-48 hours before deciding to invest in a full bottle. That may not seem like a long enough time to some, but for me, a full day's wear is definitely long enough for me to know whether a scent is terrific from top to bottom.

Blog Entries

I agree that it's a good idea to first buy only the "loves," and not too many of them. You are correct in realizing that your tastes could change. In fact, it's very common for one's tastes to upgrade fairly rapidly with exposure to more fragrances. Your purse will thank you if you take it slow.