Code of Conduct

Default What difference in scent does spraying on you clothes instead of your skin make?

Im a total cologne noob I dont know anything. What I've always done is if I want a cologne to last a long time I spray it on my shirt instead of my skin. What does that do to the scent? I've read before you're not supposed to do that if you want it to smell properly.

Default Re: What difference in scent does spraying on you clothes instead of your skin make?

Heat makes a perfume evaporate faster. So sprayed on clothes, perfumes project much less but last longer. Depending on the perfume, it's possible that clothes will project fewer notes than skin, but overall, I'd say it's more a matter of preference (ie how strong/long lasting you want a perfume to be).

Also, you need to make sure that the perfume doesn't damage the clothes. Usually they don't, but a few perfumes can stain.

cacio

All Is Beautiful

Default Re: What difference in scent does spraying on you clothes instead of your skin make?

That’s all I ever do. Love it. And it’s safer. It can slow progression. It can mute some notes.
    FYI: I spray all fragrances on clothing, never on skin.

Reside in McLean, Va., Manhattan NYC, Manuel Antonio Costa Rica & Búzios Brasil

Quote Originally Posted by cacio View Post
    Heat makes a perfume evaporate faster. So sprayed on clothes, perfumes project much less but last longer. Depending on the perfume, it's possible that clothes will project fewer notes than skin, but overall, I'd say it's more a matter of preference

cacio
    This.
    Remember that while it is perfectly acceptable to criticize the content of a post - criticizing the poster is not.
    Mean spirited, nasty, snide, sarcastic, hateful, and rude individuals on Basenotes don't warrant or deserve my or other Basenoters' acknowledgement or respect.

For me the fragrance becomes dead, i.e. it's not being allowed to interact with your skin and natural oils which makes it unique to you.