Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Is It Really Bad to Wear Winter Fragrances During Hot Weather?

Hello guys. I am new to the whole hobby. But is it really bad to wear seasonal fragrances when it is not in season?

Can someone explain in layman's terms what happens if I wear a winter fragrance in summer? I live in a country where it is humid/almost always summer time, but I enjoy sweet scents. Should I really avoid that? Would girls find it repulsive or ants eat me when I am asleep?

Reside in McLean, Va., Manhattan NYC, Manuel Antonio Costa Rica & Búzios Brasil

Default Re: Is It Really Bad to Wear Winter Fragrances During Hot Weather?

Quote Originally Posted by edgeowns View Post
    Can someone explain in layman's terms what happens if I wear a winter fragrance in summer?
    IMO nothing. I wear all my fragrances all year round.
    Remember that while it is perfectly acceptable to criticize the content of a post - criticizing the poster is not.
    Mean spirited, nasty, snide, sarcastic, hateful, and rude individuals on Basenotes don't warrant or deserve my or other Basenoters' acknowledgement or respect.

Like Hednic said, nothing. Some people find certain scents very cloying in hot weather and not so much so when it is cold out, so that is maybe what you are thinking of. I find that if i want to wear a heavy "winter" type scent in the summer, simply go lighter on the trigger and no issues.

Personally, I wouldn't want to be wearing heavy, sweet gourmands in a humid climate. Probably a bit sickly.

I'd prefer sharp citruses or chypres to cut through the heat.

Hello guys. I am new to the whole hobby. But is it really bad to wear seasonal fragrances when it is not in season?

Can someone explain in layman's terms what happens if I wear a winter fragrance in summer? I live in a country where it is humid/almost always summer time, but I enjoy sweet scents. Should I really avoid that? Would girls find it repulsive or ants eat me when I am asleep?