Code of Conduct

Question Some (maybe stupid) beginner questions

Yes, I've read all the stickies, several times. But I still have some questions.

1. If somebody is posting a formulation e.g.
    20 Musk Xylene
    5 Oakmoss
    10 Patchouli
    15 Sandalwood

Why does the numbers have no unit? Is this drops, microliter, milligram or something other?

2. What ingredients gives a perfume a masculine or feminine scent? Or can you not say that directly and it depends more on personal taste?

3. How do you organize all your substances, so you quickly find what you want? As a beginner I have at the moment just 40 essential oils and aromachemicals. But it is getting more and more. Do you sort them alphabetically or in odor groups? Do you keep them in different boxes? Do you color code them? What is the best way to keep track?

4. How do I decide about the ratio of the different components? I've learned, you should mix 20 % base note, 50 % middle note und 30 % top note. But how do I decide the ratio within the notes? Lets say I want to make a base note out of Ambroxan, Ethylene Brassylate, Kephalis (Giv) and Oakmoss. How do I determine the best mixing ratio?

5. If I mix essential oils with aromachemicals, how much oil do I use? Lets say I mix a middle note of Neroli, Ylang Ylang oil and Iso E Super. What will be the ratio between the essential oils and Iso E Super?

Thanks!

Default Re: Some (maybe stupid) beginner questions

1) They should be by weight and you can plug in whatever unit you want. What counts is ratio not total amount.

If your materials are diluted to 10% in ethanol you could use drops and get a fair approximation. With undiluted materials, ratios would be wildly off as drop size will vary wildly.