Code of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Acqua di Parma - why so little love?

I'm a relative newbie to the fragrance game but one thing that has struck me is just how little love AdP seems to get in the community and I wondered if there's something I'm missing?

They must be classed as niche I suppose in the sense that they are mainly a fragrance house. I'm wearing Colonia Leather tonight and I think it's amazing, along with OG Colonia, Oud, Ambra and Fico Di Amalfi.

So, a serious question - is it seen as been gauche within the fragrance community and if so, why?

Default Re: Acqua di Parma - why so little love?

Good question.

A store here just got the line and I think the new Colonia Futura is an amazing vetiver fragrance that isn’t sold as such. Plan to try the OG next.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    It's really quite pleasant, except for the smell (...)
    -"Mama", My Chemical Romance

I got a sample of Futura from the store when it first came out last summer and really didn't care for it. Finished it off just the other day in the cold weather here and really enjoyed it and yes, you're right - big vetiver vibes from it. Should also have said that I really like Sandalo, although I appreciate it has nothing to do with sandalwood.

Based on my vintage bottle of Assoluta, AdP's quality has diminished over the years.

AdP is still a fairly good value house at discounters, but I'm just not sure it has many truly great compositions. There are other houses in the AdP "lane" that offer higher quality, but at a higher a pricepoint.

Not sure this will really answer your question but my own observations...

The primary scents they are most known for are mostly their very traditional cologne like scents with generally limited longevity as with most colognes.
    They have branched into a lot of other areas of scent fairly broadly, but don't seem to get as much pick up and chatting as with their core scents.